Review: Three Day Summer by Sarvenaz Tash

three day summer

Title: Three Day Summer
Author: Sarvenaz Tash
Release Date/Publisher: May 19th 2015 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Finished: April 15th 2015
Pages: 304-ARC paperback-given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Michael is unsure about most things. Go to college? Enlist in the military? Break up with his girlfriend? All big question marks. He is living for the moment and all he wants is a few days at the biggest concert of the summer.

Cora lives in the town hosting the music festival. She’s volunteering in the medical tent. She’s like that, always the good girl. But there is something in the air at this concert and suddenly Cora finds herself wanting to push her own boundaries.

When Michael and Cora meet, sparks fly, hearts race, and all the things songs are written about come true. And all the while, three days of the most epic summer await them…

What I Thought:

I received this from Simon & Schuster Canada in exchange for an honest review.

This was actually a cute book and I wasn’t expecting that. I had no idea when it was set or during what concert until I started reading, but the fact that it was Woodstock was pretty cool. I wasn’t alive back then (1969) but it was interesting to read about it. I looked online and the place and everything where it took place in the book were actually historically accurate which I really liked.

Cora was a really interesting girl, she loved helping people and was volunteering at the medical tent during the concert. She lived in town not too far from where it was happening. The fact that she wanted to become a doctor and that was her dream was really inspiring. It seemed like being a girl might make it difficult but she knew what she wanted to do. Michael was kind of the opposite, he didn’t have a dream but he really liked music. He seemed like a nice guy even though he had trouble deciding what he wanted until near the end of the book. And by that I mean he liked Cora but had a girlfriend.

One problem I had with this book was of course that Michael didn’t break up with Amanda while he was hanging out with Cora, he didn’t even  try and find her. Then again I can understand that with the amount of people that were there. Of course he ended up cheating on her and falling for Cora, even though it was just a kiss. I usually have a problem with characters doing that, because no one deserves it. Although I do have to admit that I really hated Amanda and things worked out in a way that it didn’t bug me as much.

This was a cute romance and I really did enjoy it and I think a lot of other people will too. Not normally what I would have picked up but I’m glad I did. I loved getting to see how the two fell for each other. Definitely a fun summer romance! Especially if you like music.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

