Review: Shutter by Courtney Alameda

shutter

Title: Shutter
AuthorCourtney Alameda
Release Date/Publisher: February 3rd 2015 by Feiwel & Friends
Finished: March 11th 2015
Pages: 384-Hardcover-Library

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Horror has a new name: introducing Courtney Alameda.

Micheline Helsing is a tetrachromat—a girl who sees the auras of the undead in a prismatic spectrum. As one of the last descendants of the Van Helsing lineage, she has trained since childhood to destroy monsters both corporeal and spiritual: the corporeal undead go down by the bullet, the spiritual undead by the lens. With an analog SLR camera as her best weapon, Micheline exorcises ghosts by capturing their spiritual energy on film. She’s aided by her crew: Oliver, a techno-whiz and the boy who developed her camera’s technology; Jude, who can predict death; and Ryder, the boy Micheline has known and loved forever.

When a routine ghost hunt goes awry, Micheline and the boys are infected with a curse known as a soulchain. As the ghostly chains spread through their bodies, Micheline learns that if she doesn’t exorcise her entity in seven days or less, she and her friends will die. Now pursued as a renegade agent by her monster-hunting father, Leonard Helsing, she must track and destroy an entity more powerful than anything she’s faced before . . . or die trying.

Lock, stock, and lens, she’s in for one hell of a week.

What I Thought:

I seem to love ghost books recently and this one is definitely up there on my list of good ones! Another blogger recommended this one highly so I got it as soon as I could from the library.

Micheline was a very strong female character. She inherited the Helsing name so she always had to look strong even when she didn’t feel it. She couldn’t stand to look weak around others, but she eventually did have to learn to accept help from her friends.

The ghosts, the necros and other undead beings were all awesome! I loved seeing the world they lived in and how they described everything including how they captured things. I loved Micheline’s ability to see the ghosts and the fact that she captured them with her special camera. It kind of reminded me of the video game Fatal Frame but I actually loved that about it.

This was a really good book and I really enjoyed it. The only downside is a few little things were left unsolved, like who did a certain thing to set things in motion for this book. And I’m not talking about the main villain, but who was behind the scenes. The book left off with me thinking there would be another but I was told there isn’t so I’m kind of sad about that. I would have loved more of this world the author created.

So as long as you love ghosts and you didn’t mind a few little things being left up to your imagination you definitely need this book.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

5 comments on “Review: Shutter by Courtney Alameda

  1. I’m glad you liked Shutter! I thought it was a lot of fun too. Good call on your question, though. I didn’t even think about how everything started. I just kind of went with it, but you’re right, that was never explained.

  2. Glad you liked it! Well, I have read the first chapter of this book in a bookstore but I have not been feeling obligated to continue it. Lovely review!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

