Review: Beastkeeper by Cat Hellisen

beastkeeper

Title: Beastkeeper
AuthorCat Hellisen
Release Date/Publisher: February 3rd 2015 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Finished: March 8th 2015
Pages: 208-Hardcover-Library

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Sarah has always been on the move. Her mother hates the cold, so every few months her parents pack their bags and drag her off after the sun. She’s grown up lonely and longing for magic. She doesn’t know that it’s magic her parents are running from.

When Sarah’s mother walks out on their family, all the strange old magic they have tried to hide from comes rising into their mundane world. Her father begins to change into something wild and beastly, but before his transformation is complete, he takes Sarah to her grandparents—people she has never met, didn’t even know were still alive.

Deep in the forest, in a crumbling ruin of a castle, Sarah begins to untangle the layers of curses affecting her family bloodlines, until she discovers that the curse has carried over to her, too. The day she falls in love for the first time, Sarah will transform into a beast . . . unless she can figure out a way to break the curse forever.

What I Thought:

I don’t normally read middle grade books but I saw on a few blogger’s reviews that they really liked this one. My library had it so I got it as soon as I could. I didn’t want to pass up on a fairytale sounding book no matter the age group. And I have to say that it was really enjoyable.

It was a fun and fast read and I loved seeing Sarah try to solve what was going on. She had a thing for being curious and getting into things, but she wasn’t annoying when she did it. There were old curses, beasts that hunted in the forest, and of course other magical beings to make this more even more interesting. She wanted to lift the curse and even though there was a lot going on she really did try her best even when things looked bad. Not everything or everyone was as they seemed in this and that was really noticed by the ending of the book.

I really think that for the age range this would be a great book with its little bit of darkness that’s craved for in fairytale-like books. For an older audience I really think a lot of people would like this as well. I know I did and it was mostly due to the writing and engaging story and of course the magic. If it sounds interesting but youre not sure give it a try from the library like I did!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “Review: Beastkeeper by Cat Hellisen

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

