Review: Dearest by Alethea Kontis

dearest

Title: Dearest (Woodcutter Sisters #3)
Author: Alethea Kontis
Release Date/Publisher: February 3rd 2015 by HMH Books for Young Readers
Finished: March 19th 2015
Pages: 320-hardcover-Library
Series:
1. Enchanted
2. Hero
3. Dearest

Synopsis from Goodreads:

In her third book about the delightful Woodcutter sisters, Alethea Kontis masterfully weaves “The Wild Swans,” “The Goose Girl,” and a few other fine-feathered fairy tales into a magical, romantic companion novel to Enchanted and Hero.

Readers met the Woodcutter sisters (named after the days of the week) in Enchanted and Hero. In this delightful third book, Alethea Kontis weaves together some fine-feathered fairy tales to focus on Friday Woodcutter, the kind and loving seamstress. When Friday stumbles upon seven sleeping brothers in her sister Sunday’s palace, she takes one look at Tristan and knows he’s her future. But the brothers are cursed to be swans by day. Can Friday’s unique magic somehow break the spell?

What I Thought:

It’s been a while since I read the last book so it took me some time to get back into the writing style and remember the characters. I really wish that there had been books for all the older sisters too, because I really loved getting back into this.

Friday was such a sweet and caring main character and always tried to see the bright side of things. She admits that love ruled her with all her previous crushes, but when she sees Tristan she knows they share a bond. It was love at first sight but then again that’s what happens sometimes in fairytales. All the feelings the two showed towards each other were so cute, and in this one we get to see some chapters through Tristan’s eyes as well. I really liked the swan concept and how they tried to free them. They also go deeper into explaining magic that I’m rpetty sure was hinted at in the other books.

I have to admit that certain parts of the story jumped around pretty fast. I had to go back a page or so and re-read what happened because I got confused. I don’t remember if that happened in the other books or not though. I still enjoyed reading this book, but I think I liked the first two better.

This is a good series to dive into if you love fairytale retellings done in a creative and fun way!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

