Review: Stolen by Lucy Christopher

stolen

Title: Stolen
Author: Lucy Christopher
Release Date/Publisher: May 1st 2010 by Chicken House
Finished: April 17th 2015
Pages: 304-Hardcover-Library

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Gemma, 16, is on layover at Bangkok Airport, en route with her parents to a vacation in Vietnam. She steps away for just a second, to get a cup of coffee. Ty – rugged, tan, too old, oddly familiar – pays for Gemma’s drink. And drugs it. They talk. Their hands touch. And before Gemma knows what’s happening, Ty takes her. Steals her away. The unknowing object of a long obsession, Gemma has been kidnapped by her stalker and brought to the desolate Australian Outback.
Stolen is her gripping story of survival, of how she has to come to terms with her living nightmare – or die trying to fight it.

What I Thought:

I was recommended this book from another book blogger and the description sounded pretty interesting so I got it from my library. It’s told in Gemma’s voice as a letter to her captor. It was a pretty creative to have the book written and the writing was easy to follow and get hooked on.

At first I didn’t want to write a review about it because I kept feeling conflicted with what was going on and I didn’t know what to say. It was as if the book kept mixing my emotions and thoughts and then changing it again and again. At first I was so scared for Gemma and I kept worrying for her and although that feeling never really left me, the book kept adding more. The land was described so well and even though it sounded horrible the author also brought the beauty of it out at times.

Then things progressed and we got to see more of Ty and I was having doubts. Like maybe he might not be so bad? He kept doing nice things for her, caring for her and he really seemed to care. He was messed up but you felt sorry for the guy after a while. What he did was totally wrong but you end up understanding why he did it. My emotions were tied so closely with Gemma during this book and I really commend the author for that. I won’t comment on the ending in case I spoil anything, but this book was not what I expected and I think I liked it more because of that.

This was not a book I would have picked up on my own but I’m glad I did. It made me think and feel so much while I was reading and I really enjoyed it. I would definitely recommend this to other people who won’t mind the book messing with them (in a good way).

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

