Armchair BEA-Blogging Q and A

Armchair BEA

Since I couldn’t go to BEA yet again this year, I decided to participate in this! I haven’t done it before but I’ve seen it the past few years and it looked fun. Today is introductions!

Blogging Q & A

I honestly just stared at my screen for a while, wondering what to write. Being tired didn’t help. I’m not an expert (not that anyone is) and I had no idea what advice to share, and then I started worrying I wouldn’t be able to come up with anything good. But you know what? That’s OK.

Blogging and coming up with ideas for writing are hard for many people. Ever wanted to create an awesome discussion post or an amazing review but had no idea what to say? It happens. So I guess my actual advice is don’t worry if you can’t think of what to write, and don’t worry if it’s super amazing right away. Everyone goes through it at some point, and other times the words just flow out of you randomly when you least expect it. Don’t stress out and just write what you think, you can always edit it after right? Just take a deep breath, take a break, or even concentrate on something else for a while. That’s what I did and the words are already on the page! I hope this has helped even one person, because I know I constantly worry about what I write and I’m sure I’m not the only one.

When you get stumped with writing, what do you do to help the creativity flow? Leave a comment and let me know!

10 comments on “Armchair BEA-Blogging Q and A

  1. I feel like I never know what to say. But when I read some of my favorite blogs, they are just talking about anything and everything. Strange run in with a dude at Starbucks? They make it into something profound. Have a fleeting thought about non-existent parents? Write down that one sentence and then just type away!
    I think I make it too hard on myself sometimes!

    • I know!! They can make the littlest thing interesting and I always wonder how they do that. It’s hard to get your personality in writing, but I think with practice we could easily do the same 🙂 Don’t be hard on yourself, you’re not alone!

    • It’s hard to think of something for sure. I usually keep a notepad or my phone’s Evernote close in case I think of something randomly. Sometimes I sit down and try and think of ideas too, whatever works. There’s no rule saying you need a discussion post on your blog though! It could even be a list or random ramblings 🙂

  2. Good advice! There’s a lot of pressure to be original in the blogosphere, and while I don’t think that’s a bad thing, I do think it’s okay to want space to plan something good and to realize you don’t “have” to post something wild and new on a set schedule. Blogging can be spontaneous.

    • Yes! There is really a lot of pressure these days. Spontaneous is good, and it can really be any kind of post, even personal ones about the randomest thing can be great.

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

