Review: Vicious by V.E. Schwab

vicious

Title: Vicious (Vicious #1)
Author: V.E. Schwab
Release Date/Publisher: September 24th 2013 by Tor
Finished: April 4th 2015
Pages: 364-Hardcover-Library
Series:
0.5 Warm Up
1. Vicious

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Victor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong. Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find—aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge—but who will be left alive at the end?

What I Thought:

I was recommended this book by another blogger and I’m so glad I got to read it. This was a bit different from what I’ve read lately but it was really good. I am definitely going to read more by this author. I actually have another one of her books on my library wish list now.

Victor and Eli are in college and come up with the idea of testing if EO’s (Extra Ordinary people) could actually exist. Victor pushes a little more with the idea and the two actually attempt it and succeed. It’s not a happy ending though, because the two turn on each other and after something tragic Victor goes to jail. Ten years to the present and Eli is killing off EO’s and thinks himself a hero, while Victor is finally ready to take his revenge on Eli. It really plays with a hero-villain idea in this book and if either side is actually the good one or not.

This was a lot deeper of a story than I was thinking it would have been. You see these people with awesome powers and think to yourself it would be great to have them too. But then you see the consequences and how it affects them and wonder if it’s really worth it. I felt bad for a lot of them, being dragged into this just because they got a second chance. Eli killed so many and I just couldn’t agree with why he was doing it. They were both pretty complex guys, I wasn’t technically rooting for one or the other but that didn’t matter with this story. You just get sucked into it and you can’t wait to find out how it finally ends.

This book was so good and I highly recommend it! Especially for fans of Victoria Schwab who want to read an adult book by her.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “Review: Vicious by V.E. Schwab

  1. This one was a big surprise for me too! I think that because of it’s size, I wasn’t expecting it to be as gripping, intense and serious as it really is. The emotional impact of it blew me away! Not to mention that it was my very first Schwab read 🙂 I’m happy that you enjoyed it as much as I did Kelsey^^ x

  2. I really need to read this one! I keep hearing so many great things! I own a copy of it actually, but I have so many books I own but haven’t read yet! Hopefully I’ll get to it sometime this summer!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

