Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

ACOTAR

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date/Publisher: May 5th 2015 by Bloomsbury Children’s
Finished: May 13th 2015
Pages: 416-Hardcover-Bought
Series:
1. A Court of Thorns and Roses
2. Untitled
3. Untitled

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

What I Thought:

Sarah J. Maas has won me over on yet another series. If you know me, it’s that I love her Throne of Glass books and it’s one of my favourites. This book is now on my favourites list as well and I really suggest you just go get a copy. But I will still try my best to sum up my love in this review.

In the description it mentions that it’s a blend of Beauty and the Beast, and as you read you can kind of see where the main concepts came from, but the author really makes it her own. She’s created her own world with faeries and humans and made it a kind of fairy-tale romance. I wasn’t expecting it but I really ended up loving it. And of course there’s a map! I loved how she divided up the lands and the faeries who rules them, and I also really liked what we find out about the history. It’s actually kind of a sad one but still interesting. Not everything is happy either, there’s a lot of evil creatures roaming about and something even worse that you find out about after.

Feyre is a strong female character, just an ordinary human who’s had to fight to survive and keep her family fed. She ends up going to live with Tamlin, and what I really liked was that it wasn’t insta-love, anything that happens does so over time and getting to know each other. Tamlin is probably a character that others will swoon over. He’s strong, very handsome based on descriptions, and you can’t help but like him as you read more.

This is a great new fantasy series that I think a ton of people will end up falling in love with, and based on what I’ve seen I’m not the only one who loved it. Even if you’re not into her other series, give this one a try!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

8 comments on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. You liked it much more than I did. I think I gave it a 3. I just had trouble getting into it and liking the MC. It was also VERY slow, IMO. Just lacking for me compared to ToG, I guess. I will still read on to see what happens, but I’m not expecting this series to WOW me like ToG has done.

  2. Awwww, I’m so happy that you loved this one too Kelsey! You’re right, you can tell that it’s influenced by Beauty and the Beast, but SJM really made it her own with the fae, the creatures and the lore! The world-building was fascinating and of course, I loved the map too ♥ And the characters were all great too! Lovely review^^ x

  3. I really, really loved this book! Now that I’m reading your review I kind of want to read it again. lol. I don’t think I read anything about it being like Beauty and the Beast, but I bought it so quickly and started reading right away that I didn’t have time to look up anything about it — and then I was loving it so much that I didn’t want to look anything up and ruin it. lol. I can’t wait to start her Throne of Glass series!

    • I’m so glad you loved it, your love actually made me want to read it even more when I got it a week late! I really hope you like the ToG series, that one’s my favourite 🙂

  4. I loved that you could see the Beauty and Beast elements but, as you said, she totally took it and made the story her own. I really enjoyed this one too, and I’m excited to see where the story goes from here!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

