Review: The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy by Sam Maggs

The Fangirl's Guide to the Galaxy

Title: The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy:
A Handbook for Girl Geeks
Author: Sam Maggs
Release Date/Publisher: May 12th 2015 by Quirk Books
Finished: May 16th 2015
Pages: 208-Hardcover-Won

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Fanfic, cosplay, cons, books, memes, podcasts, vlogs, OTPs and RPGs and MMOs and more—it’s never been a better time to be a girl geek. The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy is the ultimate handbook for ladies living the nerdy life, a fun and feminist take on the often male-dominated world of geekdom. With delightful illustrations and an unabashed love for all the in(ternet)s and outs of geek culture, this book is packed with tips, playthroughs, and cheat codes for everything from starting an online fan community to planning a convention visit to supporting fellow female geeks in the wild.

What I Thought:

I normally don’t review non-fiction on here but with this books I just had to. I won a finished copy of this at book club a little while ago and although I hadn’t heard of it at the time I got really excited reading the description.

It’s kind of small in size and can be read in a day, but I like that because it’s pocket and travel size! There’s a lot of good resources and links in the back and throughout the book there’s even interviews with some more popular geek girls. Victoria Schwab is even in there! I really liked knowing that there’s so many other girls who are geeks/fangirls and I think that this is definitely a book others will want to read.

Not only does it go over some common terminology, like OTP and shipping (which I finally learned what it meant), but there’s info on the most popular social media sites, the most popular fandoms for fangirls, what to do at conventions, and some basic feminism info which I thought was cool. I loved that there was a YA book nerds fandom mentioned, which is totally me!

I honestly just had a lot of fun reading this, and although not everything applied to me (cosplaying) I loved reading it and learning more. I actually think this could be a great resource for fangirls wanting to learn more. What I loved the most was that the author added a lot of empowering stuff for fangirls/girls in general, letting them know they’re not alone and to just do what they love. There’s even a section on handling Trolls.

Definitely something I’m keeping on my shelf and I think a lot of people will want one on theirs too!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy by Sam Maggs

  1. This book sounds gorgeous! 🙂 I think I’m definitely going to have to check it out myself, being a fangirl and all 😛 It’s great to know you found it useful and fun!

  2. I really wanted to read this one too and I requested and arc on NG or EW but got declined *sniff* I love reading about fangirl life, fandoms and all that nerdy stuff! I’ll really have to get myself a copy now that I know that you enjoyed it^^

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

