Review: Cold Iron by Stina Leicht

cold iron

Title: Cold Iron (The Malorum Gates #1)
Author: Stina Leicht
Release Date/Publisher: July 14th 2015 by Saga Press
Finished: June 1st 2015
Pages: 672-ARC Paperback-Given for Review
Series:
1. Cold Iron
2. Unknown
3.Unknown

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Fraternal twins Nels and Suvi move beyond their royal heritage and into military and magical dominion in this flintlock epic fantasy debut from a two-time Campbell Award finalist.

Prince Nels is the scholarly runt of the ancient Kainen royal family of Eledore, disregarded as flawed by the king and many others. Only Suvi, his fraternal twin sister, supports him. When Nels is ambushed by an Acrasian scouting party, he does the forbidden for a member of the ruling family: He picks up a fallen sword and defends himself.

Disowned and dismissed to the military, Nels establishes himself as a leader as Eledore begins to shatter under the attack of the Acrasians, who the Kainen had previously dismissed as barbarians. But Nels knows differently, and with the aid of Suvi, who has allied with pirates, he mounts a military offensive with sword, canon, and what little magic is left in the world.

What I Thought:

I was given a copy of this in exchange for an honest review from Simon & Schuster Canada. 

I don’t usually read High Fantasy too often, because I find that I can’t get into the story since there’s always so much going on and tons of info. Then again the books I’ve tried have been adult and a little dry. After reading this book I definitely need more YA high fantasy.

This book has three narrators, Nels, Suvi and Ilta. They each have their own sections that usually have a few chapters, and it’s clearly marked when it switches a person. I was confused the first time it switched on me at first, probably because I haven’t read a book told through different people in a while but I adapted pretty fast. I ended up liking it since I got to see what was happened all over. I pretty much liked all three of our main characters, but I think Nels was my favourite.

There was a lot going on and it really kept my attention. We got to learn about some of the different kingdoms, their people, and a few of them we got to meet. Now, our main characters are kanin, and the ones they fight with are humans who have no magic. The magic powers were pretty cool too. The nobility could control people with their words, and others had healing and so on. It was actually really interesting because usually the main focus is on humans, but it was from the other end of a ruling class.

I really liked this book even though sometimes it did feel like it dragged on a bit, but it’s a long book and I haven’t read one in a while. The content kept my attention pretty well the entire book and I think a lot of people who enjoy high fantasy or even fantasy would enjoy this. I’m already excited for the next book to be out!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

