Review: 5 To 1 by Holly Bodger

5 To 1

Title: 5 To 1
Author: Holly Bodger
Release Date/Publisher: May 12th 2015 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
Finished: May 17th 2015
Pages: 224-Hardcover-Gifted

Synopsis from Goodreads:

In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl, making women an incredibly valuable commodity. Tired of marrying off their daughters to the highest bidder and determined to finally make marriage fair, the women who form the country of Koyanagar have instituted a series of tests so that every boy has the chance to win a wife.

Sudasa, though, doesn’t want to be a wife, and Kiran, a boy forced to compete in the test to become her husband, has other plans as well. As the tests advance, Sudasa and Kiran thwart each other at every turn until they slowly realize that they just might want the same thing.

This beautiful, unique novel is told from alternating points of view-Sudasa’s in verse and Kiran’s in prose-allowing readers to experience both characters’ pain and their brave struggle for hope.

What I Thought:

The copy I have was given to me at a local Book Blogger Meet-up where we actually got to meet the author. We got to talk to her and ask questions, saw some things that helped inspire her to write, and of course got them signed! It made me super excited to read this one. Meeting her doesn’t affect my rating though.

I’ve only read a few verse books but this one was really interesting. I liked the prose parts added in, it really helped separate the book and I liked seeing perspective from both characters. I really liked both characters and learning as much as I could through their short chapters. Throughout the book there’s also beautiful artwork at the beginning of the chapters and separating the days and I loved it. I also really like the cover, it’s seriously perfect for this book. It’s just a really visually appealing book.

I got so absorbed into this one that I read it in a day, especially since it reads pretty fast because of the verse parts. I was kind of hoping I would have learned more of what was over the wall and what happened after the end, but after reading the book I thought about it and realized that I didn’t mind. I liked the way it ended and not knowing didn’t bother me for once.

This has made me want to give verse books more of a try in the future, I know one I read a while back I didn’t like but I’m going to try more eventually. This is a really good and of course pretty book, and I really do recommend it. Even if you don’t know certain terms mentioned in the book, that’s what searching on the internet is for.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “Review: 5 To 1 by Holly Bodger

  1. I’ve been wanting to read this one for ages! I completely forgot that it had been released, so I’ll hopefully be grabbing myself a copy soon. I’ve never read a book in verse before, but I always like the idea of them so fingers crossed it’ll appeal to me!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

