Review: Damage Done by Amanda Panitch

damage done

Title: Damage Done
Author: Amanda Panitch
Release Date/Publisher: July 21st 2015 by Random House Books for Young Readers
Finished: April 7th 2015
Pages: 336-ARC Paperback-given

Synopsis from Goodreads:

22 minutes separate Julia Vann’s before and after.

Before: Julia had a twin brother, a boyfriend, and a best friend.

After: She has a new identity, a new hometown, and memories of those twenty-two minutes that refuse to come into focus. At least, that’s what she tells the police.

Now that she’s Lucy Black, she’s able to begin again. She’s even getting used to the empty bedroom where her brother should be. And her fresh start has attracted the attention of one of the hottest guys in school, a boy who will do anything to protect her. But when someone much more dangerous also takes notice, Lucy’s forced to confront the dark secrets she thought were safely left behind.

One thing is clear: The damage done can never be erased. It’s only just beginning. . . .

What I Thought:

I received a copy of this to review through my local book club from the publisher.

There are so many and yet so little words for this book so I’ve tried my best at this review. I really had a hard time putting it down because it just captured me. At the end of one of the chapters near the beginning I even found myself yelling “What?!” out loud. I was luckily at home so only my husband looked at me weirdly.

Lucy (formerly Julia) lives in a new town now and has a best friend and possible boyfriend and everything seems great. Then someone shows up from their old town and everything progressively gets worse. She goes out of her way to figure things out and it’s pretty intense at times. Not only does this book start out with a shock as you learn about her brother and what he did, but you keep finding out more as the story goes on. Little bits of information that finally bring it all together.

What I also really liked were the personal notes of the doctor who was with Ryan when he was younger. It was a good way to see flashes of the past while still being interesting. I actually really looked forward to them while reading. They were pretty short so it wasn’t like you had a lot of info dumped onto you.

I really think this was a great book, dark and kind of twisted but really well written. It would definitely be a great addition to your shelf!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

