Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

The Sin Eater's Daughter

Title: The Sin Eater’s Daughter (The Sin Eater’s Daughter #1)
Author: Melinda Salisbury
Release Date/Publisher: February 24th 2015 by Scholastic Pres
Finished: April 13th 2015
Pages: 320-Hardcover-Library
Series:
1. The Sin Eater’s Daughter
2. Unknown
3. Unknown

Synopsis from Goodreads:

I am the perfect weapon.
I kill with a single touch.

Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince, and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has it’s price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch.

Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girls she truly is.

Yet in a court as dangerous and the queen’s, some truths should not be told…

What I Thought:

It took me a bit after reading this book to decide what to rate it. I liked it, but I wasn’t sure how much. I have to admit the first half is interesting concerning her poison abilities and the world at the palace. But after an event where we find things out I realized this book didn’t take a turn I was hoping it would, and it lost a lot of its appeal. It became just another romance where they fight to be together, without really even doing anything the rest of the book.

Twylla is Daunen Embodied and anyone who touches her dies from the poison in her body. She seemed really interesting but really just spends most of the book doing as she’s told. Even near the end she has trouble making her own decisions. The Queen was really powerful and pretty much controlled everything, so it’s not like women can’t be strong in this world. I just wanted more from her. She didn’t have to be a bad-ass but she never really speaks up about anything.

The other thing I was hoping for was a bit more world building. She never really leaves the castle aside from one hunting trip, and while we hear about other places there’s no map or anything concrete we learn about them. I would have loved to know more about all of this, so maybe there’s something in the next book. The palace, people in it and other royals all just sounded so generic. One big part of the ending had a revelation of something and it felt like Twylla just came up with it out of nowhere and it made no sense how she randomly figured it out.

It’s an interesting start to a series but unfortunately it fell flat for me. Hopefully the next book doesn’t let me down but I’ll wait to see other reviews of it before I pick it up.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

2 comments on “Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

    • Glad to know I’m not the only one!
      I’m going to try the next book when it’s out, but I’m not sure it’s going to be any better. We can only hope!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

