Review: All We Have Is Now by Lisa Schroeder

all we have is now

Title: All We Have Is Now
Author: Lisa Schroeder
Release Date/Publisher: July 28th 2015 by Scholastic Inc.
Finished: May 11th 2015
Pages: 272-ARC Paperback-given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

What do you do with your last day on earth?

Just over twenty-four hours are left until an asteroid strikes North America, and for Emerson and everyone else who didn’t leave, the world will end. But Emerson’s world already ended when she ran away from home. Since then, she has lived on the streets, relying on her wits and on her friend Vince to help her find places to sleep and food to eat.

The city’s quieter now that most people are gone, and no one seems to know what to do as the end approaches. But then Emerson and Vince meet Carl, who tells them he has been granting people’s wishes — and gives them his wallet full of money.

Suddenly, this last day seems full of possibility. Emerson and Vince can grant a lot of wishes in one last day — maybe even their own.

What I Thought:

To be honest I wasn’t expecting to like this one very much. It just looked so small and I was worried it would be just like other doomsday books. But after getting into it I started liking it and the characters. Most chapters are pretty short and broken up between our two main characters, Carl, and the verse/poem pages. It actually reads really fast too and you could probably read it in a day like I did.

I really liked how the two started doing nice things for other people even though they didn’t have much time left. I also loved how they really started appreciating what they had, and seeing the beauty of things around them.

I do have to say though that there were two things I would have liked to see in this. A before story explaining how they found out about the asteroid and what it did to society. They hint at it briefly but it’s never really talked about much. There’s one gathering where they meet people and talk about a certain something, and it would have been way more believable and interesting if we had more of a buildup. Also the ending. I have to admit it wasn’t as intense as I would have thought, and I would have liked to see it more developed and explaining after everything happened.

It really makes you think what you would do if you had one day left to live. This was a pretty good book, and although I would have loved if it explained some things more, I did like it.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

