Review: Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen

9780142401767_KeepingTheMo_CV.indd

Title: Keeping the Moon
Author: Sarah Dessen
Release Date/Publisher: June 2012 by Speak
(first published September 1st 1999)
Finished: May 19th 2015
Pages: 228-Paperback-Owned

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Never underestimate the power of friendship.

When Colie goes to spend the summer at the beach, she doesn’t expect much.

But Colie didn’t count on meeting Morgan and Isabel.

Through them, she learns what true friendship is all about, and finally starts to realize her potential.

And that just might open the door to her first chance at love…

What I Thought:

Most of the Sarah Dessen books I’ve read were more recent so I bought a few of her older ones recently. I really wanted to read this one because of the friendship mentioned in the description. And after reading this book I’m really excited to read the other ones I bought!

Colie and her mom were bigger girls before slimming down. Her mom is a star now, but Colie still has self-esteem issues. I can totally relate to her problems, including the teasing she went through. I didn’t get teased for the same thing as her, but it still hurts when it happens. But I really liked when she moved to Colby. She still struggled through most of the book but you start to see a bit of progress as she opens up to others.

She makes two friends over time, Isabel and Morgan. Their friendship was kind of random at times, but I liked how the other two girls were always there. If I had a choice I would have liked the book to be little longer and explore those friendships more. I guess I just wanted more of them getting to know each other and see them sticking together. Norman and Mira were also great characters, and I really liked them. Even Cat Norman.

I really liked this book and highly suggest people read the author’s older books as well if they haven’t yet. They’re still awesome and it just reinforces the fact that I love this author!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “Review: Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen

  1. I really need to read more Sarah Dessen books. Like you, I have read a few of her recent ones. I really should get on to some of her older ones. This one looks good to start with. I can definitely relate to the self-esteem issues and I really like the mention of friendship too!

    I am glad you enjoyed this one! Sorry I have not been around in a while. First year of university got the better of me! I hope you are doing well! 🙂 xx

    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

  2. I love Sarah Dessen’s books! I find she just keeps getting better and better … this one was great, too. 🙂 I think there were her first couple that I didn’t like, but I’m happy I didn’t start with them … she’s a favourite of mine now!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

