Review: The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy

the creeping

Title: The Creeping
Author: Alexandra Sirowy
Release Date/Publisher: August 18th 2015 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Finished: May 2nd 2015
Pages: 400-ARC Paperback-Given for Review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Twelve years ago Stella and Jeanie vanished while picking strawberries. Stella returned minutes later, with no memory of what happened. Jeanie was never seen or heard from again.

Now Stella is seventeen, and she’s over it. She’s the lucky one who survived, and sure, the case is still cloaked in mystery—and it’s her small town’s ugly legacy—but Stella is focused on the coming summer. She’s got a great best friend, a hookup with an irresistibly crooked smile, and two months of beach days stretching out before her.

Then along comes a corpse, a little girl who washes up in an ancient cemetery after a mudslide, and who has red hair just like Jeanie did. Suddenly memories of that haunting day begin to return, and when Stella discovers that other red-headed girls have gone missing as well, she begins to suspect that something sinister is at work.

And before the summer ends, Stella will learn the hard way that if you hunt for monsters, you will find them.

What I Thought:

I received a copy of this from Simon & Schuster Canada for free in exchange for an honest review.

I’m starting to love books that leave me a bit scared to turn off the lights, so when I saw this one I knew I had to try it.

While reading I had the hardest time figuring out what kind of books it was. The first 100 pages felt like a slow contemporary which changed into a murder mystery book, and I was wondering for a while if I read it wrong because I thought it was more paranormal when I chose it. It gives hints that it could be about a monster but it wants to leave you guessing about if the Creeping is real or not. And of course there’s some romance mixed in there. The book felt like it had a hard time deciding what it wanted to be. The mystery of not knowing what was going on was good and kept me in suspense. The ending made up for most of it but I still expected something else.

Once the story got more developed (after halfway through at least) I have to say that I was getting pretty creeped out. The only problem I had was with the pacing. I didn’t expect it to go super fast, but it felt like certain scenes dragged on or weren’t that important to the story. This could change in the final book though, I don’t know if any scenes were edited out or not.

This was a pretty good book that really makes you think near the end about the whole Creeping idea. It wasn’t what I expected but it was still interesting and kept my attention. Try it out and let me know what you think!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

