Review: When My Heart Was Wicked by Tricia Stirling

when my heart was wicked

Title: When My Heart Was Wicked
Author: Tricia Stirling
Release Date/Publisher: February 24th 2015 by Scholastic Press
Finished: April 8th 2015
Pages: 192-Hardcover-Library

Synopsis from Goodreads:

“I used to be one of those girls. The kind who loved to deliver bad news. When I colored my hair, I imagined it seeping into my scalp, black dye pooling into my veins.

But that was the old Lacy. Now, when I cast spells, they are always for good.”

16-year-old Lacy believes that magic and science can work side by side. She’s a botanist who knows how to harness the healing power of plants. So when her father dies, Lacy tries to stay with her step-mother in Chico, where her magic is good and healing. She fears the darkness that her real mother, Cheyenne, brings out, stripping away everything that is light and kind.

Yet Cheyenne never stays away for long. Beautiful, bewitching, unstable Cheyenne who will stop at nothing, not even black magic, to keep control of her daughter’s heart. She forces Lacy to accompany her to Sacramento, and before long, the “old” Lacy starts to resurface.

But when Lacy survives a traumatic encounter, she finds herself faced with a choice. Will she use her powers to exact revenge and spiral into the darkness forever? Or will she find the strength to embrace the light?

What I Thought:

For a short book there was actually a lot going on. I felt like I really did enjoy the story, even though sometimes I really wanted more and to go deeper into the story line. It was a lot darker than I imagined but it really helped shape the book.

Lucy was going through the turmoil of if she was good and bad, going back and forth about it. As a teenager I could understand her being conflicted of who she was. She felt like she was worse with her real mom compared to her when she was around her step-mom, and both of those women were completely different. I really felt bad for Cheyenne, Yes she’s made to look really bad and she does some pretty horrible things before and during the book, but sometimes you see glimpses that all she really wants is her daughter to love her.

The magic in this book was actually pretty cool. Lucy loves plants and using them for all sorts of things, even when casting little spells. The way everything was written made it seem like this could all be real and possible, since it wasn’t anything over the top like in fantasy novels. Some of it was pretty dark though, especially near the end.

Don’t let this book’s size scare you away. It might be short but it has a lot of good writing to offer. Sometimes I did wish there was more to it, but I focused more on enjoying what I had.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

One comment on “Review: When My Heart Was Wicked by Tricia Stirling

  1. I am usually scared away by short books that have a lot going on. I always feel like they end a little abruptly or they don’t go in to enough detail when it comes to key plot point.

    I am glad this is not the case with this novel and that you enjoyed it. I will definitely keep an eye out for it in the book store. Also this cover is wonderful! 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend! 🙂

    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

