Review: Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman

legacy of kings

Title: Legacy of Kings (Blood of Gods and Royals #)
Author: Eleanor Herman
Release Date/Publisher: August 25th 2015 by Harlequin Teen
Finished: June 8th 2015
Pages: 384-ARC eBook-given for review
Series:
1. Legacy of Kings
2. Unknown
3. Unknown

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Imagine a time when the gods turn a blind eye to the agony of men, when the last of the hellions roam the plains and evil stirs beyond the edges of the map. A time when cities burn, and in their ashes, empires rise.

Alexander, Macedonia’s sixteen-year-old heir, is on the brink of discovering his fated role in conquering the known world but finds himself drawn to newcomer Katerina, who must navigate the dark secrets of court life while hiding her own mission: kill the Queen. But Kat’s first love, Jacob, will go to unthinkable lengths to win her, even if it means competing for her heart with Hephaestion, a murderer sheltered by the prince. And far across the sea, Zofia, a Persian princess and Alexander’s unmet fiancée, wants to alter her destiny by seeking the famed and deadly Spirit Eaters.

Weaving fantasy with the salacious and fascinating details of real history, New York Times bestselling author Eleanor Herman reimagines the greatest emperor the world has ever known: Alexander the Great, in the first book of the Blood of Gods and Royals series.

What I Thought:

I was given an advanced review copy of this from NetGalley for free in exchange for an honest review.

When I first started reading this it took me a while to get wrapped up into it. I think up to at least 25% into the book. At one point I just wanted to DNF, but I pushed through it and I’m actually really glad I did.

I don’t know why I found the beginning hard, maybe because I was in the mood for other books but I think it was also a bit overwhelming woth so much going on. And the fact that they introduce a bunch of  characters and many of them have their own point of view (POV) during the book doesn’t help. If I remember correctly there were 7 POV’s during the whole book, so lots of things are going on for different people. With that many voices I don’t think there was an actual main character. Kat and Alex were my favourites though.

After reading a while more I got really into the book and I just couldn’t wait to figure out where everything was going and what it was building up to. There’s court politics, groups plotting things, romance, action, and old forbidden magic. It had a lot to offer as long as you stick with it. With all it’s detail I wouldn’t take a long break from reading it just in case.

This was a good start to a new series that I think a lot of people will enjoy. Like I already said, if you’re having trouble at the beginning just keep reading because it does get really good.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

2 comments on “Review: Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman

  1. The book cover really attracted me at first. I myself, am quite unsure if I want to pick this book up just for the cover or if its REALLY for the plot. After reading your review, I think I’ll give it a try 😀

    Awesome review!

  2. I really want to get my hands on this book – I was after it at BEA this year but I missed out. I’m sorry it took you a while to get into it, that happens sometimes though. Either you just weren’t feeling it or it’s like you said, you might have been craving another kind of book altogether. Regardless, I’m glad that you saw it through AND especially that it ended up being worth your while 🙂 7 POVs is quite a lot, but it sounds like the story made it work in the end! I can’t wait to read it and compare notes with you! Great review^^ xx

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

