Review: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith

Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between

Title: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Release Date/Publisher: September 1st 2015 by Poppy
Finished: June 4th 2015
Pages: 256-ARC Paperback-Given for Review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

On the night before they leave for college, Clare and Aidan only have one thing left to do: figure out whether they should stay together or break up. Over the course of twelve hours, they’ll retrace the steps of their relationship, trying to find something in their past that might help them decide what their future should be. The night will lead them to friends and family, familiar landmarks and unexpected places, hard truths and surprising revelations. But as the clock winds down and morning approaches, so does their inevitable goodbye. The question is, will it be goodbye for now or goodbye forever?

This new must-read novel from Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, explores the difficult choices that must be made when life and love lead in different directions.

What I Thought:

I received a copy of this at a local Book Blogger meet-up for free in exchange for an honest review.

I’ve never actually read anything by this author because I wasn’t sure if I would like it. I’ve already slapped myself for this, don’t worry. After reading this one I immediately added her other three books that are similar to my wishlist.

The whole decision whether to stay together and make it long distance, or to end their relationship before they leave college is so hard. Clare makes a list of places they need to visit before they both leave for college and as they go through town you get to see their memories and how those specific places are tied to their relationship. I loved getting to see all of that. Clare and Aidan seemed so good for each other and I really liked both characters. She was a bit too stubborn at times but somehow they worked through it. Their friends Scotty and Stella were great support and I liked having them show up for certain parts of the book. They brought some needed comedy during some tense moments.

It really makes it hard to decide if they should break up and make it a good last memory, or if they should try their best even though they’re going to be so far apart. The beginning of my relationship with my husband was long distance with visits for the longest time so I truly understand how hard it can be, but also totally worth it. I won’t say what happens at the end of this obviously, but I understood the way it ended and it works well for the book.

This book affected my feels and had me crying at the end. There’s just so much emotion throughout the whole book that makes you go up and down and it kind of just collided together at the end of the book. A definite read if you’re already a fan of her other books, and if you’re not go read this anyway. These characters can’t be the only ones that go through something like this!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

4 comments on “Review: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. I only really enjoyed the ending. I felt the story just dragged for a while and when things did pick up there was the constant second guessing dialogue between the characters. But I do like the fact that they got back together in the end – in a cute way.
    – Krys

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

