Review: That Summer by Sarah Dessen

9780142401729_ThatSummer_CV.indd

Title: That Summer
Author: Sarah Dessen
Release Date/Publisher: Published June 2012 by Speak
(first published January 1st 1996)
Finished: May 25th 2015
Pages: 198-Paperback-Owned

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The more things change…

As far as Haven is concerned, there’s just too much going on.

Everything is changing, and she’s not sure where she fits in.

Then her sister’s old boyfriend shows up, sparking memories of the summer when they were all happy and everything was perfect…

But along the way, Haven realizes that sometimes change is a good thing.

What I Thought:

This is a much older book by the author but I had to have it for my collection. I’d never read it and since it was so short I figured I would give it a try as a break before I read a huge book. This book was all about summer, family, change, and growing up. I liked that it was a light read but I really enjoyed it.

Haven is a 15 year old girl, really tall, and not comfortable in her own body when everything around her changes. She’s in a state of change herself because she keeps growing, so when the people around her are moving on and she can’t it’s pretty hard for her. She keeps a memory of what she thinks was the perfect summer in her mind and keeps wishing it was still like it was back then. She really does have a lot of stuff dropped on her and I felt bad for her, at that age it’s harder to adapt with family separating among other things.

One of the things I really liked was that there was no romance. Well, there was for the sister getting married, but not the main character. Haven was solely dealing with her life and didn’t depend on romance to help her along the way. Don’t get me wrong, I love seeing romance bud, but once in a while you just need a good book that doesn’t have much in it. I really appreciated that so I could focus on the story more.

I think this would be a great book for summer, especially as a coming of age story. And of course if you’ve read any of Sarah Dessen’s newer books and want to read everything she’s written.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

3 comments on “Review: That Summer by Sarah Dessen

  1. This is the ONLY Sarah Dessen book that I felt ‘meh’ about … I think part of it was because there was no romance and the other part was that there was a lot of contemplation going on, like it was all in Haven’s head and less dialogue. I feel like there was more telling than showing. At any rate, I’m glad to see that Sarah’s writing has improved since this one! And I’m glad I didn’t start with it or I might not be the fan I am today.

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

