Review: All The Rage by Courtney Summers

all the rage

Title: All The Rage
Author: Courtney Summers
Release Date/Publisher: April 14th 2015 by St. Martin’s Griffin
Finished: June 16th 2015
Pages: 321-Hardcover-Library

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The sheriff’s son, Kellan Turner, is not the golden boy everyone thinks he is, and Romy Grey knows that for a fact. Because no one wants to believe a girl from the wrong side of town, the truth about him has cost her everything—friends, family, and her community. Branded a liar and bullied relentlessly by a group of kids she used to hang out with, Romy’s only refuge is the diner where she works outside of town. No one knows her name or her past there; she can finally be anonymous. But when a girl with ties to both Romy and Kellan goes missing after a party, and news of him assaulting another girl in a town close by gets out, Romy must decide whether she wants to fight or carry the burden of knowing more girls could get hurt if she doesn’t speak up. Nobody believed her the first time—and they certainly won’t now — but the cost of her silence might be more than she can bear.

With a shocking conclusion and writing that will absolutely knock you out,All the Rage examines the shame and silence inflicted upon young women after an act of sexual violence, forcing us to ask ourselves: In a culture that refuses to protect its young girls, how can they survive?

What I Thought:

This normally wouldn’t be something I would read, but it was recommended and I liked the author’s other books I’ve read. I really do need to read the tougher books and not shy away from them as often after reading this. It was a good book and well written, but you really do feel “All The Rage” during and after reading this book because of everything in it.

I felt so furious at some of the things happening her and what she went through. Especially the bullying and slut shaming, which is never acceptable. I was so shocked how people treated her because she said someone raped her. They refused to believe her and even someone on the police force had it in for her just because it was his son. That’s totally not fair, and because of that she kept her mouth shut.

I wished she would have talked to someone, but it’s hard when some people aren’t willing to listen or do anything about it, which is so true in the real world. She went through so much and it was hard for her to even remember it let alone talk about it with someone. I felt her helplessness while reading and wished I could have done something to help Romy, but all I could do was read. When the other girl goes missing things get worse for Romy while the town is in mourning. She’s left wondering why she was left to live when the other girl is still out there, if they would search as hard for her. This totally broke me, because no one should feel like they wouldn’t be missed.

This book really hits you in the heart, gets all your emotions jumbled up. It not only made me angry because of the injustice, but I also cried near the end. It’s a powerful book that will mess with you, but I really think it needs to be read.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

2 comments on “Review: All The Rage by Courtney Summers

  1. From what I’ve heard, this book is seriously rage-inducing. The title seems appropriate in any case. It sounds like a difficult but worthwhile read, though I’m not sure I could read it without the rage taking over and me chucking it through a wall o.O I’m glad that you enjoyed it though and I loved reading your thoughts ♥

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

