Review: Mirrored by Alex Flinn

mirrored

Title: Mirrored
Author: Alex Flinn
Release Date/Publisher: September 15th 2015 by HarperTeen
Finished: July 8th 2015
Pages: 384-eBook ARC-Given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A modern, multi-generational tale of Kendra, the witch from “Snow White,” who trains Violet, an ugly, lonely, and heartbroken girl in the 1980s who transforms herself into “the fairest one of all” but still cannot win Greg’s heart, and Celine, Greg’s daughter with Violet’s high school rival, Jennifer.

What I Thought:

I was given an advanced review copy of this for free in exchange for an honest review.

I love Alex Flinn’s books so when I saw this was available for review I grabbed it right away! This wasn’t my favourite one by her, but it was still pretty good.

The beginning started out great, with poor Violet being picked on and called ugly. I felt so bad for her, I know what bullying is like. She realized early on that she had magic, and decided to change her appearance because she thought it would make everything better. She gets revenge on a few people, but then she becomes obsessed with looks and Greg, a friend who she loved from when she was younger. I can kind of understand the revenge part, but this obsession seriously consumes her for a long time.

Then it flashes to the present day with Celine, who is a naturally beautiful girl. She seems so sweet and nice though, and doesn’t let that beauty get to her. She actually doesn’t like that others judge her on her beauty and I really liked that. It kind of got slow around this part, I was expecting the book to be more about Violet. Good news though is we get to see more of Kendra! She’s the main witch in many of this author’s other books.

Violet pretty much becomes the evil stepmother after many things happen. This is now starting to sound like Snow White, especially how they describe Celine and Violet’s growing hatred toward her. There’s even a certain 7 people who she meets! They’re different than what you would think though. Goose was a great friend and my favourite character. He gets a section to himself and it was the best part of the whole book, aside from the ending.

This was a good retelling and modernization of the classic Snow White. I enjoyed it, not enough to make it a favourite, but enough that I would definitely recommend you read it.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

One comment on “Review: Mirrored by Alex Flinn

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

