Review: Dreamland by Robert L. Anderson

dreamland

Title: Dreamland
Author: Robert L. Anderson
Release Date/Publisher: September 22nd 2015 by HarperTeen
Finished: July 2nd 2015
Pages: 336-eBook ARC-Given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Odea Donahue has been able to travel through people’s dreams since she was six years old. Her mother taught her the three rules of walking: Never interfere. Never be seen. Never walk the same person’s dream more than once. Dea has never questioned her mother, not about the rules, not about the clocks or the mirrors, not about moving from place to place to be one step ahead of the unseen monsters that Dea’s mother is certain are right behind them.

Then a mysterious new boy, Connor, comes to town and Dea finally starts to feel normal. As Connor breaks down the walls that she’s had up for so long, he gets closer to learning her secret. For the first time she wonders if that’s so bad. But when Dea breaks the rules, the boundary between worlds begins to deteriorate. How can she know what’s real and what’s not?

What I Thought:

I was given an advanced review copy of this for free in exchange for an honest review.

The idea of travelling people’s dreams has always interested me, so as soon as I saw that’s what this had I needed to read it.

I couldn’t decide what kind of character Dea was. She seemed timid and not the kind to do anything at first, then there’s the side of that steals so she can get her fix of “walking”, and the totally naive girl when it comes to romance, and of course the one that doesn’t listen to caution from a parent who knows things. I’m not expecting her to only have one personality, but a bit more solid character building would have been nice so everything fit together better. She’s not a character I would end up loving or even remember.

A few times, instead of facing danger, she gets someone else to do it for her. Totally understandable in the real world, but this is a book of a girl who walks into people’s private dreams, you would expect her to do a little more for herself. I liked Connor though, he helped her a lot through this and still seemed like a caring guy. A few times it totally felt like she was using him though, even though she says in her head that she loves him.

I kind of wished there was more world building and not so many unanswered questions. As far as I know this is a standalone and I was left wondering. Dea does travel a few dreams and explains a few things that she knows, but I would have loved to see more of it.

I liked certain parts, especially the ability to dream walk, but it didn’t wow me at all. I ended up skimming some chapters a bit because it wasn’t interesting me, and I was close to not finishing the book at all and making it a DNF. I just couldn’t get into it.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

