Review: A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

a madness so discreet

Title: A Madness So Discreet
Author: Mindy McGinnis
Release Date/Publisher: October 6th 2015 by Katherine Tegen Books
Finished: June 2nd 2015
Pages: 384-eBook ARC-Given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Grace Mae knows madness.

She keeps it locked away, along with her voice, trapped deep inside a brilliant mind that cannot forget horrific family secrets. Those secrets, along with the bulge in her belly, land her in a Boston insane asylum.

When her voice returns in a burst of violence, Grace is banished to the dark cellars, where her mind is discovered by a visiting doctor who dabbles in the new study of criminal psychology. With her keen eyes and sharp memory, Grace will make the perfect assistant at crime scenes. Escaping from Boston to the safety of an ethical Ohio asylum, Grace finds friendship and hope, hints of a life she should have had. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who stalks young women. Grace, continuing to operate under the cloak of madness, must hunt a murderer while she confronts the demons in her own past.

In this beautifully twisted historical thriller, Mindy McGinnis, acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, explores the fine line between sanity and insanity, good and evil—and the madness that exists in all of us.

What I Thought:

I was given an advanced review copy of this for free in exchange for an honest review.

I’d read the author’s Not a Drop to Drink series and I really liked it so I had to get this one of course. It was my favourite by her so far too. I was debating on giving it a 4 or 5 rating and kept bouncing back between the two. I really base it on how I enjoy the book and I pretty much devoured this one so I felt like it deserved a 5.

It never actually mentions the year (but might in the final version), but you get a sense based on the clothing mentioned and how they act in society. The also mention Jack the Ripper and one character is in a group fighting for women’s rights. So even without the actual timestamp you’ve already got a perfectly painted background of when this story takes place, which was pretty interesting. And of course of the living conditions and way the people deemed “insane” are treated. They seriously locked some people up for the most random things.

This is a mix of a historical mystery thriller. I loved that Grace and the doctor (leaving his name out so it doesn’t spoil the story) go out and try to piece together information about murders. They work well together and they are a team that values each other’s minds and intellect. So this isn’t an actual romance. I really liked that it wasn’t since it wouldn’t have fit the book as well as the current story does. Grace was a smart character and used that to her advantage through the book. She’d gone through so much before the book even starts and even though she does seem to have some darkness in her, I really liked her character.

I really think this one will be a book that everyone will want when it’s out. If you loved this author’s other duology you definitely need this book. It’s a stand-alone too so you won’t have to wait forever to find everything out.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

  1. Oh man, I’m so behind, I still haven’t read Not A Drop to Drink! O_O despite all the wonderful things I’ve heard about it too *facepalm* I’m really happy that you enjoyed this one too though Kelsey^^ It’s always great when an author continues to deliver 🙂 The mix of historical, mystery and thriller sound really appealing to me so I know I’ll read this one too!

  2. This sounds really good! I got Not a Drop to Drink from another blogger years ago and still haven’t read it. This one looks more my style, though! And that cover is gorgeous!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

