Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

finding audrey

Title: Finding Audrey
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Release Date/Publisher: June 9th 2015 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Finished: September 27th 2015
Pages: 288-ARC Paperback-borrowed

Synopsis from Goodreads:

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.

What I Thought:

I read an advanced copy that I borrowed from a local blogger.

This book was already released when I read it, but I read an advanced version that I was able to borrow from a local blogger. I was kind of nervous to read this, I’ve never read anything by this author and I heard from someone that this was her first YA book. Mostly I was worried that the romance mentioned would take over everything in the book and overshadow the anxiety thing. But it actually turned out really well and I loved this book!

Anxiety and other mental disorders are usually dealt with people saying they’re not real, that it’s all in their head, or they just are just not handled well in literature or in the real world. But they are definitely real, and I know people who have anxiety. I liked that this author chose to actually talk about it. I have to admit that I’m no expert, I don’t know if you can ever really be rid of it, but I do know someone who has great days and others that aren’t so good after years of having anxiety.

Audrey has it pretty intensely, to the point that she wears sunglasses all the time. When Linus comes and she tries to get closer to him, you really see her struggle. After a while it gets easier, and I liked that he was patient and just wanted to be there for her. Near the end, it kinds of hints that she’s mostly better, but that she could still have days where it affects her.

There were a of of funny moments in this, especially the scenes with the camera filming. Her family is just hilarious! Her mom can be pretty intense, especially with her older brother’s video game “addiction” as she calls it. But they’re all there for her and it was nice to see a family that wasn’t broken up for once.

I really liked this book, so now I think I need to read her other stuff too. This was a quick, funny and sometimes emotiona read, but worth it!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

