Review: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

The Wrath and the Dawn

Title: The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn #1)
Author: Renee Ahdieh
Release Date/Publisher: May 12th 2015 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Finished: July 22nd 2015
Pages: 388-Hardcover-Library
Series:
1. The Wrath and the Dawn
2. The Rose and the Dagger

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights

Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.

She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all.

What I Thought:

I’d been wanting to read this one since before it came out so I put myself on the library waiting list as soon as I saw it on there. I have to say it was a good book! I liked that I enjoyed it so much as it’s her debut, and I’m really excited to read the next book when it’s out.

I loved the whole culture and the setting and so much more! The map in the front was pretty handy but I didn’t find myself looking at it too often because most of the book takes place in one location. I was a little lost at what a few words meant but I went with it because it was a really good read and I could kind of guess what they meant. When I finished the book I realized there was a Glossary in the back! I didn’t even think to check for one, so make sure you check for it when reading! And yes you do figure out what’s going on in this book. If I didn’t know what the mystery of it all was that would have annoyed me. Yet there’s enough left over at the end to make you want the next book.

Shazi was an interesting character. She was quick to speak and wasn’t afraid to say what was on her mind. She was smart and cunning but she still had a nice side to her. Khalid was kind of a dark guy (not moody or emo), a self-described monster for all that he did. He had his problems but he comes off as uncaring. As he interacts with Shazi he starts to open up more and we start to see the kind of guy he really is.

I wasn’t sure I liked the romance throughout the whole book, sometimes I wondered how she could like him and they both kind of treated each other like crap for a while. He was cold towards her and she would say some things that upset him just because. Then again she was there to kill him. What made me love it was the whole unraveling plot and all the different story-lines that started to come together. I can tell it’s building to something really good.

This was a really good book for a debut, and I’m really looking forward to the next installment!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “Review: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

  1. I’m really excited that you enjoyed this one too Kelsey^^ Reading your thoughts here reminded me how excited I am to get my hands on that sequel! I ADORED the setting, the culture and how you felt like you were RIGHT there with the characters! I wasn’t sure about the romance at the start either but it won me over soon enough. 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

