Taking a small break

If you follow me on Twitter then you know I’ve had a lot of trouble getting into blogging these past few months. It even affected my reading for a while. I think scheduling 3 reviews every week in September didn’t help at all. So I decided that during December no posts would go up and I would take a small break until the new year. It’s the slowest month for views on here anyway, and I want to focus on family during Christmas and the new year.

I’m not sure if it was just a slump or something else that was bringing this on. Blogging and writing reviews felt like a chore that I wasn’t looking forward to. I even debated stopping blogging for a while because I didn’t think I would be able to get back into it.

But I do still want to do this, and I realized I just needed a bit of a change. I’ve even been focusing on reading my own books and not writing reviews for them as part of my break. Even re-reading some that I loved, which really helped! I would also miss the blogging community, although I would still keep in contact with everyone if I had stopped blogging. A lot of bloggers and authors have been so nice to me and some have even been inspiring me and encouraging me to keep up with this.

So as I type this I’ve already been thinking of ideas and I’m planning some stuff for the new year. I’m not going to focus solely on reviews, but I’m hoping to have a variety of book blogging stuff and maybe even some other things over time, depending on what direction I decide to take. It will be slow to start but I’m going to take my time and enjoy it.

Thank you to everyone who has helped me, and I’ll see you in the new year!

6 comments on “Taking a small break

  1. I’m looking forward to seeing you again in January! I agree the holidays are pretty slow for blog views anyway, so you might as well save up your creativity!

  2. I must have missed your Twitter updates about this^^, but lately I’ve been too busy to check more than 5 minutes of Twitter before logging out, so it might just be bad timing there. Anyway, I’m really happy that you decided to take a break instead of quitting! You’re one of the very first blogs I followed/first blogger friends I made so I’d be sad if you stopped altogether! I hope that your break will be good and that it renews your love of blogger 🙂 I’ll be looking out for your posts in January 😉 Have a great Holiday season too ♥

    • No worries! Aww thanks, I would miss you a lot too! So far the break I’ve been taking is helping a lot, so I’m sure it will be good for me over the next few weeks. Thank you! Hope you have a good month too 🙂

    • Thank you! Usually I blog and read a ton right now, but stepping back really is helping a lot. I’m just giving myself small doses of it for now when I feel like it and not pressuring myself.

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

