ARC Review: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

truthwitch

Title: Truthwitch (The Witchlands #1)
Author: Susan Dennard
Release Date/Publisher: January 5th 2016 by Tor Teen
Finished: June 14th 2015
Pages: 416-ARC Paperback-borrowed
Series:
1. Truthwitch
2. Windwitch
3. Untitled
4. Untitled

Synopsis from Goodreads:

On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery”, a magical skill that sets them apart from others.

In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.

Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.

Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.

Safi and Iseult just want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must fight emperors, princes, and mercenaries alike, who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

What I Thought:

I borrowed this advanced copy from a local blogger.

This was one of my most anticipated books and I was lucky enough to be able to borrow and read it from a local book blogger early. I will definitely be getting my own finished copy, this series needs to be on my shelf. And yours.

As most of my followers probably know, I love fantasy books. There’s just something about them that attracts me; a different world, magic, and lots of adventure. This was the first fantasy by one of my favourite authors and I have to say she’s pretty frigging awesome in that genre!

This book has a lot of elements you would expect from a favourite fantasy, but also a lot of extra stuff that just makes it become a favourite. The idea of people being different type of witches/magic users was so cool. Truthwitch, Waterwitch, Firewitch and so on. They could do so much, like manipulate elements, and there’s even some more dangerous types out there that you briefly read about. The world building was really good, and thankfully there was a map in my ARC! I loved the different kingdoms and I think in the next books we will probably learn a little more about all of them.

Safy and Iseult were such a great team. I liked both girls equally and I loved that they were such good friends. They complimented each other, with one being  Truthwith and the other a Threadwitch. They have a lot of adventures, which of course is because they get in a lot of trouble. I also really liked Merik and the Bloodwitch Aeduan, both guys had their own POVs as well as the two girls and I loved seeing their thoughts too. I know Aeduan was the bad guy, but I couldn’t help liking his story too, and hoping maybe someday he would be good.

I know there’s a lot of hype around this book but after reading this book I can easily see why. I think a lot of people will like this one, and as soon as my final copy gets here, it will have a permanent place on my shelves.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “ARC Review: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

  1. I’m happy that you enjoyed this one even more than I did Kelsey^^ I knew I was in the minority here haha 🙂 I ended up liking it well enough but I had a few issues with world-building, which knowing my love of detailed epic fantasy is unsurprising I suppose. I did really like Safi and Iseult’s friendship as well as Merick. I think Aeduan was my favorite of the lot though and like you, I’m holding out hope for him ;D Lovely review!!

    • Totally understandable with the world building, I’m not as big an epic fantasy person. I’m excited for the next one though, and hopefully you enjoy it more!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

