ARC Mini-Reviews: Sword and Verse + Shallow Graves

sword and verseSword and Verse (Sword and Verse #1)

Author: Kathy MacMillan
Publisher/Release Date: January 19th 2016 by HarperTeen
Pages: 384-ARC eBook-Given for review
Finished: December 28 2015
Goodreads
My Rating: 4/5

Review:

  • Loved the first half of the book! After about 60% it got slow and I wasn’t sure I liked the direction it was taking. It sped up near the end and ended up being really good though.
  • The story about the gods at the beginning of each chapter was super interesting, and I really liked it. I would totally read about just that as a separate book.
  • Overall I liked it and can’t wait to continue this series.

__________

shallow gravesShallow Graves

Author: Kali Wallace
Publisher/Release Date: January 26th 2016 by Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 368-ARC eBook-Given for review
Finished: January 12 2016
Goodreads
My Rating:4.5/5

Review:

  • I really liked this one! It was a paranormal through the eyes of the “monsters”.
  • Reminded me of the show Supernatural a little bit, and I liked seeing the other side of the people being hunted.
  • The main character was troubled and perfect for this story. I won’t say what she was, but it was interesting and I just kept wanting to read it.
  • It looks like it’s a stand-alone book on Goodreads, but if that changes I will definitely be continuing this series.
6 comments on “ARC Mini-Reviews: Sword and Verse + Shallow Graves

    • I admit it could have used some more world building, but I did enjoy what was there. I’m hoping they touch upon some more things in the next one.
      I’m glad you liked Shallow Graves though! that one was really good.

  1. I’m a little bit scared of Sword and Verse now because I’ve seen some less promising reviews for it – but I’m still quite curious so I might still check it out. Shallow Graves is one that I’m getting more and more excited about though so I’m really happy that you loved it too!!

    • It depends on what you’re looking for. There was some stuff I didn’t like but I loved the writing aspect. Let me know what you think! Yay and especially Shallow Graves! I wasn’t expecting a lot so it made it even better. 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

