Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer

winter

Title: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4)
Author: Marissa Meyer
Release Date/Publisher: November 10th 2015 by Feiwel and Friends
Finished: March 5th 2016
Pages: 824-Hardcover-Owned
Series:
1. Cinder
2. Scarlet
3. Cress
4. Winter

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

What I Thought:

I’m so sad this series is done! I waited to read it partly because of the fact that I didn’t want it to end, but also because it’s over 800 pages. But since I’ve started reading my own books more I really wanted to get to it finally. It looks daunting because of the page count but I never got tired of reading it or it feeling like it was long at all. And then it was over too fast!

I loved that each character got their own sections since there was so much going on. It was really nice to see different events happening through all of their eyes. I have to say I was a huge fan of Thorne and Creas though. They might be my favourite characters/couple, but I’d have to read the whole series again to be sure. Either way they were super cute!

I was also happy we got to learn about Winter and Jacin. Winter was such an interesting and good character for many reasons. She was dealing with a Lunar sickness for not wanting to use her gift on anyone, and while she seemed quiet she was actually very strong willed. She was kind to others and really just wanted to help people, even though she found it hard to stand up to Levana at times. Levana was pretty scary though.

I loved how everything wrapped up at the end even though so many things kept happening and I wasn’t sure how it would end. I still have Fairest and Stars Above that I need to read, but this is one series I will definitely be re-reading in the future! I loved it so much and really recommend everyone give it a try.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

4 comments on “Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer

  1. My main reason for waiting on this one was definitely the fact that I was NOT ready for it too be over! I adored this as a series conclusion too though so I’m really happy you feel the same way! Cress+Thorne are my favorites too though I have a soft spot for Cinder+Kai. And despite the fact that we knew them the lease, I LOVED Winter+Jacin too 😀 I can’t wait to see what you make of Fairest and while I own a copy of Stars Above, I’m not ready to read it yet XD GREAT review my friend!

    • Thank you!! I’m so glad we love a lot of the same stuff about it. I think I would want to re-read it all again and then get to Fairest and Stars Above 🙂 That way I’m not trying to remember certain things that happened before.

  2. This series is everywhere and I haven’t decided on whether or not to try it out. I’ve seen\heard some mixed reviews. Does the series remind you of other books \authors?

    • It’s really good, if you’re unsure maybe borrow the first one from the library to try it out! I’m not sure if there’s anyone I can compare it to, it’s kind of it’s own thing.

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

