ARC Review: The Incident on the Bridge by Laura McNeal

the incident on the bridge

Title: The Incident on the Bridge
Author: Laura McNeal
Release Date/Publisher: April 26th 2016 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
Finished: April 11th 2016
Pages: 336-ARC Parperback-Given at Bookclub

Synopsis from Goodreads:

When Thisbe Locke is last seen standing on the edge of the Coronado Bridge, it looks like there is only one thing to call it. But her sister Ted is not convinced. Despite the witnesses and the police reports and the divers and the fact that she was heartbroken about the way things ended with Clay, Thisbe isn’t the type of person to act so impulsively.

While everyone in town prepares to mourn the loss (some more than others), Ted and Fen, the new kid in town, set out to put the pieces together and find her sister.

But if Thisbe didn’t jump, what happened up on that bridge?

What I Thought:

I received a copy of this at Book Club during the anniversary party, and it sounded pretty interesting so I read it as soon as I got the chance. It kept going back and forth whether I liked it or not at first, but sadly I didn’t.

It took until around page 94 (I kept track on Goodreads) for this book to start making sense to me and also to get interesting. When it started I didn’t really know what was going on. I knew the description of the book, and I know that she disappeared, but it felt like there were gaps in the beginning and I just couldn’t get what was the point of story.

There are a lot of characters that have their own chapters and they contribute a little to the story eventually, but for some of their chapters I was left wondering why I needed to read that bit of info sometimes. Like certain things felt unnecessary or pointless. I don’t know if it was just filler or if it was missing something to actually grab my attention, but for some it was a bit of both. I know they probably needed some backstory, but half the characters I couldn’t care less about and some of them were boring and forgettable.

I still felt like the book either needed to be longer with more that contributed and expanded the story to make it exciting to read, or to cut out random stuff about some of the people. At the end I still had to flip back to the beginning to remember who two certain characters were because I kept forgetting. I don’t know if it’s just me that this happened to, but I couldn’t really enjoy it. This book was definitely not for me.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

