ARC Review: Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

girl against the universe

Title: Girl Against the Universe
Author: Paula Stokes
Release Date/Publisher: May 17th 2016 by HarperTeen
Finished: March 21st 2016
Pages: 400-eBook ARC-Given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Maguire is bad luck.

No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs each morning, horrible things happen when Maguire is around. Like that time the rollercoaster jumped off its tracks. Or the time the house next door caught on fire. Or that time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash—and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch.

It’s safest for Maguire to hide out in her room, where she can cause less damage and avoid meeting new people who she could hurt. But then she meets Jordy, an aspiring tennis star. Jordy is confident, talented, and lucky, and he’s convinced he can help Maguire break her unlucky streak. Maguire knows that the best thing she can do for Jordy is to stay away. But it turns out staying away is harder than she thought.

From author Paula Stokes comes a funny and poignant novel about accepting the past, embracing the future, and learning to make your own luck.

What I Thought:

It took me a few weeks to think of what to say about this book. I always find it harder to think of what to say when I loved a book though.

First thing you need to know is that as soon as it comes out I’m buying it. And hugging it. And admiring it on my shelf. This book was really good and exactly what I needed when I read it. I loved pretty much everything about it. There were some really funny moments that I couldn’t help smiling at, and of course ones that made me cry. I actually had to hold in tears when I read one part on my break at work.

I’ve never been into tennis, I played a few days in gym class but that was about it. But reading about this actually made me want to learn more about it, and I actually plan to at some point. Most likely when I re-read this book this summer (which is definitely happening). Maybe even someday I’ll try playing it again just for fun. It makes you interested in the sport without shoving it down your throat which I liked too.

The characters and the story and the romance was all good. The idea of her being unlucky/cursed was interesting and well done. I felt bad for Maguire a lot though because she felt so much guilt for things she couldn’t control. But I was happy with how the book ended.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

3 comments on “ARC Review: Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

  1. I loved this one! I thought it was Paula’s best work to date, and I’m so glad that it meant a lot to you. I also hope to get into tennis soon, what with summer coming and all. Maguire and Jordy were great together, and their struggles were perfectly portrayed in GATU.

    By the way, I love your dog print rating system! 🙂

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

