ARC Review: My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows

myladyjane

Title: My Lady Jane
Author: Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows
Release Date/Publisher: June 7th 2016 by HarperTeen
Finished: April 29th 2016
Pages: 512-eBook ARC-given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

For fans of The Princess Bride comes the comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey.

Lady Jane Grey, sixteen, is about to be married to a total stranger—and caught up in an insidious plot to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But that’s the least of Jane’s problems. She’s about to become Queen of England. Like that could go wrong.

What I Thought:

I’ve been wanting to read this book since I saw Jodi tweeting about it and I was so excited to get it off Edelweiss! I love two of these authors and plan on reading the books from the other one, so of course I had to read this. I also love historical books set in the Tudor era so this made me feel happy. And of course when I read it I fell in love with it!

Not only does it have all the historical stuff I love with bits of romance in there, but this book was hilarious! Multiple times I caught myself laughing waiting for the bus or holding it in while I was on break at work. These characters were just too funny, and some of the things they would say would have me bursting out, I think one time I laughed so much my eyes were watering. But seriously, this book is funny. The authors as narrators also jump in and give us some little snippets to help with the story, and those were pretty funny too.

The added element of magic in the form of animal shifters was cool! They didn’t call it that, but people that can change into animals is pretty much the same thing. Some of the animals they changed into were so awesome and I loved how some of the characters became aware and had to learn to use this power. Not everyone had that ability of course.

The history isn’t fully accurate and they take some liberties to make changes for the story but I actually really liked that, and they even tell you what they changed. I really loved that and I actually think it worked well for this story. I’m definitely buying a final copy when this book is out, and I think you should give it a try as well. There’s so much to love about this book!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

One comment on “ARC Review: My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

