ARC Mini-Reviews: Run + The Crown’s Game

runRun

Author: Kody Keplinger
Publisher/Release Date: June 28th 2016 by Scholastic Press
Pages: 288-ARC Paperback-Given at a blogger meet-up
Finished: May 11th 2016
Goodreads
My Rating: 4.5/5

Review:

  • This book was really good and I liked that it wasn’t focused on romance which most contemporaries are. It’s focus was friendship and all the highs and lows of two very different people.
  • Agnes is legally blind but she can see certain shapes and she does everything she’s told. Bo is the girl in a small town with a reputation because of her family. They meet and Agnes starts pushing her boundaries with the rules her parents give her, and we find out there’s more to Bo than you’d think. I really liked both girls, even when certain things lead to secrets and lies near the end.
  • Both girls tell part of the story in this book, Agnes is the past and Bo the present. It goes back and forth to tell the story and I found it hard to put this book down. I think this was my favourite by this author so far.

__________

the crown's gameThe Crown’s Game (The Crown’s Game #1)

Author: Evelyn Skye
Publisher/Release Date: May 17th 2016 by Balzer + Bray
Pages: 416-ARC Paperback-Given at a book blogget meet-up
Finished: May 19th 2016
Goodreads
My Rating: 5/5

Review:

  • A really good fantasy! Loved the idea of two powerful magic users having to compete to become the Imperial Enchanter. The differences in their magic was pretty cool too.
  • Loved the setting so much, the whole idea that there was magic in Russia. Even the made up places the author created, which she tells you about at the end. There’s real history mixed with fantasy and I loved it.
  • I think a lot of people who love fantasy will get sucked into this book. It’s told through different characters but you can’t help liking them all. I couldn’t tell whether I wanted Vika or Nicolai to win because they were both awesome.

I was given these advanced review copies for free in exchange for an honest review.

2 comments on “ARC Mini-Reviews: Run + The Crown’s Game

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

