ARC Review: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

this savage song

Title: This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1)
Author: Victoria Schwab
Release Date/Publisher: July 5th 2016 by Greenwillow Books
Finished: May 26th 2016
Pages: 464-ARC eBook-Got from Edelweiss
Series:
1. This Savage Song
2. Untitled

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

What I Thought:

When I saw who this was by, it was an automatic add to my kindle. Her books haven’t disappointed me yet and I’ve loved so many of them! I loved the world and the different types of monsters in this. The Sunai were my favourite of course, with music being their main weapon. They seemed the most human at first but the ones with the most secrets.
I really liked August and how he kept trying to hold onto his human self. He obviously wasn’t human but I liked seeing him try to adjust and pass as one when he went to school. And I liked that the school wasn’t a huge part of this and that the story had a ton more to offer us. Kate was pretty interesting, I didn’t understand part of her until near the end, which was totally fine though. I liked her more as I read about her and I liked how she developed as the book went on.
A few parts could have used a bit more explanation, eventually most of it was filled in but I would have rather known a few bits about certain things near the beginning half. Aside from that I didn’t have any problems with the book, I loved it! The ending of course makes me want the next book now, even though this one isn’t even released as I write the review. There’s a very good chance I’m going to buy this and I really think you should read it.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

2 comments on “ARC Review: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

  1. Eeeep! I’m very excited that you enjoyed this because like you, I love Schwab and she hasn’t disappointed me so far! I need to get my hands on this one asap! I’m glad the confusing bits cleared up eventually. Wonderful review^^

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

