Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

acomaf

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date/Publisher: May 3rd 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Finished: June 9th 2016
Pages: 640-Hardcover-Owned
Series:
1. A Court of Thorns and Roses
2. A Court of Mist and Fury
3. Untitled

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

What I Thought:

I’d been wanting to read this book since I loved the first one. I got to it not long after buying it, otherwise I would have ended up waiting quite a while if I didn’t dive right in. Mainly because the size of it is intimidating! At almost 700 pages this book can be heavy, especially for weaker arms, but it was so good and I probably built a little muscle. But all joking aside, I liked this one better than the first.

Feyre is dealing with a lot, especially with what happened to her and what she did Under the Mountain. It gives her nightmares and plagues her constantly. She has a darkness in her that she can’t handle. Tamlin is no help, dealing with his own crap, and she gets worse. But as the book goes on and things happen, she starts to realize she’s not that weak little girl who needs a protector anymore. Even with her Fae stuff going on, she doesn’t have it easy. And her Fae stuff is actually pretty awesome, with all that she can do.

I have to admit that I did like Tamlin in the first book and I was rooting for their romance (aside from the one incident where he was violent, I didn’t approve of that) but in this book it actually made me hate him. I won’t say too much but we see a different side of him, one that was hinted at in the first book and I ended up resenting him for what he did. On another note, I liked Rhys in the first book even though he was so mysterious about things, but you get to see more of him in this and he totally won me over. He has done some bad things, which aren’t excusable, but when you find out why you can’t help but like him.

I loved this book way better than the first, which I loved at the time. It has more magic, more threats of bad things to come, and even better romance. I had no idea there was going to be sex scenes though, so that kind of surprised me. But in all it was a great book!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

6 comments on “Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Like you, I liked Tamlin well enough in the first book, though I never fully swooned over him. Something about him didn’t sit right with me. And then when I read this one^^ I figured out why I never loved him. I wanted to be surprised by his behavior here but I just couldn’t. It fit. So yeah, I LOVED this one more than the first book by far ♥ I’m happy you felt the same way Kelsey 😀

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

