Review: The Martian by Andy Weir

the martian

Title: The Martian
Author: Andy Weir
Release Date/Publisher: August 18th 2015 by Broadway Books
(first published 2011)
Finished: July 17th 2016
Pages: 369-Paperback-Won

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars.

Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, he won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment, or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first.

But Mark isn’t ready to give up yet. Drawing on his ingenuity, his engineering skills—and a relentless, dogged refusal to quit—he steadfastly confronts one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next. Will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?

What I Thought:

I won a copy of this book a little while ago in a contest with 8 other books. Not a lot of them looked like ones I would read but they were all pretty interesting. To be honest I was convinced that I didn’t want to read this and that I wouldn’t enjoy it. But then when the Make Me Read It Read-a-thon came around I figured I’d go ahead and add it to the list. It came in second and after reading the first book I decided to get myself pumped for it. And I actually really liked it!

This is one of those books that wouldn’t normally be on my radar but I’m so glad I finally got to it. I still haven’t seen the movie so I went into this without really knowing anything. I knew he was on another planet trying to survive and that was it. I assumed it would be a super sad book and really heavy but I found myself laughing at so many parts! The character has this crazy sense of humour that he’s able to bring out even when something bad happens. And this guy seems to have the worst of luck at times. You really get sucked in as soon as you start reading too.

There are descriptions that are scientific and math oriented that take up a good portion of his daily routine. I was worried it would be dry and I wouldn’t understand any of it but I actually was able to keep up with certain things. Thankfully the author takes your mind off it with humour and sometimes even describes it simpler since Mark is pretty much writing a kind of journal to tell about his journey. It just ends up working out and when he actually tries stuff out you finally see what he was talking about. I didn’t find it that bad really but I didn’t want that to put off someone from reading this.

I watched the movie after reading the book and it was really good! A few things were left out but that’s expected. I suggest you give this book a chance though. I almost didn’t want to but I’m still glad I did.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “Review: The Martian by Andy Weir

  1. I saw the movie beforehand because the boyfriend wanted to see it and I enjoyed it so much it made me add the book to my tbr shelf. I still haven’t read it but seeing that you enjoyed it encouraged me even more to pick it up! Glad the math and science bits weren’t too confusing since I suck at math LOL! Great review^^

  2. I wish you had listened to the audiobook for this one! I loooooved it. The narrator was amazing and really gave a good voice to Mark’s character. And I loved that the sciency bits weren’t too dry. That was one of my good points for the book – actually, I liked how Mark dumbed them down in his story. And the book was so much more funny than the movie!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

