ARC Review: The Memory Book by Lara Avery

the memory book

Title: The Memory Book
Author: Lara Avery
Release Date/Publisher: July 5th 2016 by Poppy
Finished: July 21st 2016
Pages: 368-ARC Paperback-Given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

They tell me that my memory will never be the same, that I’ll start forgetting things. At first just a little, and then a lot. So I’m writing to remember.

Sammie was always a girl with a plan: graduate at the top of her class and get out of her small town as soon as humanly possible. Nothing will stand in her way–not even a rare genetic disorder the doctors say will slowly start to steal her memories and then her health. What she needs is a new plan.

So the Memory Book is born: Sammie’s notes to her future self, a document of moments great and small. It’s where she’ll record every perfect detail of her first date with longtime crush, Stuart–a brilliant young writer who is home for the summer. And where she’ll admit how much she’s missed her childhood best friend, Cooper, and even take some of the blame for the fight that ended their friendship.

Through a mix of heartfelt journal entries, mementos, and guest posts from friends and family, readers will fall in love with Sammie, a brave and remarkable girl who learns to live and love life fully, even though it’s not the life she planned.

What I Thought:

This was one of the books I got at a local blogger meet-up a few months ago. I delayed reading it because it sounded like a sad book and sometimes I have a hard time with those. I knew I was going to cry at one point, but I finally wanted to give it a try.

I ended up really liking the characters, especially our main girl Sammie and of course Cooper. Sam is an intense girl who loves to debate and prides herself on those wins. She was very goal driven and I just really liked her. Her idea to leave this journal of sorts was a great idea and I loved reading her thoughts. Cooper I wasn’t sure about at first but the guy changed throughout the book and he won me over. I just liked how nice he was.

When she finds out what she has, the book doesn’t turn super depressing like I thought it would. She still gives us some laughs and I had a hard time putting this book down. It looked big but I found it read pretty fast. A lot of the chapters are short and some not even a full page. Anyway as the book goes on she keeps trying to be strong, even when her memory starts to go. There were quite a few sad parts later in the book, but you can’t help but really get attached to everything you’re reading.

This book was really good. I laughed and cried and really enjoyed it and I hope you give it a chance!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “ARC Review: The Memory Book by Lara Avery

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

