ARC Review: Crossing the Line by Meghan Rogers

crossing the line

Title: Crossing the Line (The Raven Files #1)
Author: Meghan Rogers
Release Date/Publisher: April 12th 2016 by Philomel Books
Finished: July 27th 2016
Pages: 368 pages-Paperback ARC_Given for review
Series:
1. Crossing the Line
2. Enemy Exposure

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Jocelyn Steely was kidnapped as a child and raised in North Korea as a spy. When her agency sends her to the U.S. to infiltrate the very group her parents once worked for, Jocelyn jumps at the chance to turn double agent and finish off her kidnappers once and for all. She convinces the head of the American spy agency to trust her, but it’s not quite as simple as that: Jocelyn has to fight the withdrawal symptoms from the drug that the North Koreans used to keep her in line, and her new fellow spies refuse to trust their former adversary. Worst of all, there might be some new information to uncover about her parents – if she even wants to find out.

I was given this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

What I Thought:

I received this for review a few months back but I was never in the mood to read it. I had low expectations for it and I just decided recently after re-watching the movie Spy, that I had to finally get to this. And this book was awesome!

I really wasn’t expecting to like it so much but I just couldn’t put it down. The action and fighting scenes and double-agent spy stuff going on was just what I needed right now. Add a bunch of really cool characters and this will probably be on my list at the end of the year for favourite books. And of course there’s secrets and other things going on, so there’s a lot to keep you interested!

Jocelyn was a pretty badass character but as you read you can really see how much she’s fighting to stay that way around others. KATO made a drug that she became addicted to and relied on them to give it to her, which is why she worked with them for so long (not a spoiler since it’s in the description). So not only was she dealing with addiction, she was focused on her missions and she just had so much riding on everything.

I loved the other agents at IDA (the good guys) especially Nikki and Travis! There was no romance, but there was a lot of trust and friendships forming in this book and I really liked seeing that. Not that I wouldn’t mind a romance in this book or the next one!

This was a book I wasn’t expecting to like so much but I’m so glad I read it. I’m excited for the next one to be out and this is a series I will want on my shelves!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

