Mini-Reviews: The Maze Runner + Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

the maze runnerThe Maze Runner (The Maze Runner #1)

Author: James Dashner
Publisher/Release Date: August 24th 2010 by Delacorte Press
Pages: 392-Paperback-Owned
Finished: August 27th 2016
Goodreads
My Rating: 4/5

Review:

  • Hubby was gifted the series a while back and he actually read them all before me (aside from the sequel). We watched both movies together as well before I even decided to read this series. In a way I’m kind of glad I did it that way. It gave me something to compare when reading this, and I found that I enjoyed the book as well as the movie quite a bit.
  • A lot of stuff was different between the two though! They pretty much kept the basis things but the ending and a lot of other stuff changed. And of course the ending was really good, although a bit sad.
  • The characters and the idea of the maze and trying to solve the puzzle of why they were there was great. Thomas was repetitive with a few things, like things being familiar and his memories in terms first half, but after a while you get used to him.
  • I definitely will be reading the rest of the series soon, as well as the prequel! And getting the new prequel book when it’s out soon.

__________

harry potter 8Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter #8)

Author: J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Publisher/Release Date: July 31st 2016 by Little, Brown UK
Pages: 343-Hardcover-Owned
Finished: August 25th 2016
Goodreads
My Rating:3.5/5

Review:

  • Liked it but didn’t love it.  I didn’t go in with big expectations, I was just positive and took my time reading it.
  • I know there wasn’t any huge descriptions so a lot is left to the imagination, which was ok, but I felt like it was still missing some of that emotion.
  • The script format wasn’t hard to read and I got into it pretty easy after a bit. The beginning can be a bit slow but it gets better.
  • I think this would have been so cool to see as a play and I think I would have liked it a lot better that way. Hopefully they release a version for everyone to watch someday!
2 comments on “Mini-Reviews: The Maze Runner + Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. Lovely reviews^^ Maze Runner is on my tbr shelf and my library has it on audio so I should be getting to it soon! Glad you enjoyed it! And good to hear feedback on the movie as well, I was curious if it lived up to the book 🙂

    I’m kind of scared about The Cursed Child now…I KNOW it could never be as good as the original books but I’m worried I really won’t like it. I recently reread the series so I had to wait for the hangover to blow over before I jumped in but I’ll read it soon *crosses fingers* LOL!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

