ARC Mini-Reviews: Aerie + Three Dark Crowns

aerieAerie (Magonia #2)

Author: Maria Dahvana Headley
Publisher/Release Date: October 4th 2016
Pages: 320-eBook ARC-given for review
Finished: June 20th 2016
Goodreads
My Rating: 3.5/5

Review:

  • Enjoyed the book and unique writing style again. It was a good story and so much was revealed and came to a close.
  • I don’t remember if I mentioned it in the last book, but when they do their singing I always kind of got confused. I was never sure if there was words, or just sounds. It gets a little clearer in this book but I also think some of the singing would have been amazing with lyrics so we could feel their emotions even more.
  • I still enjoyed the first book more, most likely because this world was so new at the time, but this was a good addition. People who loved the first book will still enjoy this one!

__________

three dark crownsThree Dark Crowns (Three Dark Crowns #1)

Author: Kendare Blake
Publisher/Release Date: September 20th 2016 by HarperTeen
Pages: 416-eBook ARC-Given for review
Finished: n/a
Goodreads
My Rating: DNF

Review:

  • All three sisters have their own chapters. We get to know them as the story goes on but after a while it starts to get a little dull and nothing much happens.
  • At 42% the main focus is only on two sisters, Katherine doesn’t show up much. And the chapters with Arsinoe seem to focus way more on her friend Jules than the actual girl who is going to fight to be queen, which was kind of weird.
  • It was almost half way into the book and the sisters still hasn’t met. I was hoping they would have gotten to the Beltane a lot quicker so they could start competing against each other. Aside from a love interest for a character who isn’t a queen.
  • I ended up DNFing this book because I lost interest and not much happens. I don’t know if and when it picks up, but I wasn’t enjoying myself and I kept wanting to read other books.

I was given these advanced review copies for free in exchange for an honest review.

4 comments on “ARC Mini-Reviews: Aerie + Three Dark Crowns

  1. I was really looking forward to Three Dark Crowns, because it’s Kendare Blake! But I saw a DNF review earlier, and now I’ve read yours as well. I don’t think I’ll be picking it up. Especially if the sisters hadn’t even met yet by the middle. I hate it when that happens!

    Great review! 🙂

  2. What a bummer^^ I was really looking forward to Three Dark Crowns but it doesn’t seem to be delivering at all. Sorry it was a DNF for you! I still need to read Magonia though – I’m glad that you enjoyed the sequel even though it didn’t quite live up to the first book 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

