Review: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

queen of shadows

Title: Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date/Publisher: September 1st 2015 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Finished: September 7th 2016
Pages: 648-Hardcover-Owned
Series:
0.5. The Assassin’s Blade
1. Throne of Glass
2. Crown of Midnight
3. Heir of Fire
4. Queen of Shadows
5. Empire of Storms
6. Untitled

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The queen has returned.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

The fourth volume in the New York Times bestselling series continues Celaena’s epic journey and builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

What I Thought:

This review has been so hard to write! I find that books you love are always so much harder. This is a series I’ve been reading since the beginning and I’ve loved every book. This is the longest one I’ve read so far, and the size is pretty much what kept me from getting to it for almost a year. I’m really hoping I will read the next one before the year is out, so I don’t repeat the wait!

The only problem I had with this is that the second half of part 1 seemed to drag on. I saw a lot of character interactions and development and I know some things were being hinted at and set up for later in the book. But sometimes it felt like it took a while and I wanted things to go faster. Some epic things did finally happen and you were told how it was, but I did find the pace to be slower than I would have liked.

My favourite parts of the book were Manon and her witches, as well as Elide. They were just so exciting and I loved getting to see through the eyes of someone on the other side of the battle. I think Manon might actually be my favourite at the moment. I do still like Aelin and Rowan and her new court, but as the story has gone on I’ve gotten attached more to some others.

So, if you’re a fan of this series, definitely read this one. Get through the slow part and you’re in for a lot of action, fights and epic stuff.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

4 comments on “Review: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I just finished EoS so I was curious how you made out with this one^^ And now I’m eager to know what you’ll think of EoS LOL! I really love QoS to be honest but then again, this series has become one of my all time favorites…it’s like you said: I’ve loved them from the start and loved every new book 😀 Great review! xx

  2. I’m enjoying reading this one, but now I’ve put it down and I just can’t pick it back up! I need a few really long chunks of time to just plod through. It’s weird since I do love it and the characters, but once I hit a Manon chapter I get bored. I’ll finish eventually!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

