ARC Review: Heartless by Marissa Meyer

heartless

Title: Heartless
Author: Marissa Meyer
Release Date/Publisher: November 8th 2016 by Feiwel & Friends
Finished: October 4th 2016
Pages: 464-ARC Paperback-Borrowed

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland — the infamous Queen of Hearts — she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the yet-unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend and supply the Kingdom of Hearts with delectable pastries and confections. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next Queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the king’s marriage proposal, she meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship.

Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

What I Thought:

I borrowed this to review from another book blogger.

I don’t know why but I wasn’t expecting this to be as good as it was! I knew it was by a favourite author but I’ve never been a huge fan of Alice in Wonderland, and since this was related to that a little I went in with low expectations. But I honestly loved the whole thing!

I loved that characters and the world and the whole story. There’s a few characters you’d recognize and it was really interesting to how they were before. I vaguely remember the Disney movie but I was still able to place them. I always did like the Cheshire Cat though, and he was in this for a little bit, coming and going.

I was absorbed into this book the whole time I was reading it, and I really liked Cath (that’s her nickname in the book) and of course the joker, Jest, when he showed up. The romance that started between them was just what I needed and I kept hoping that they would end up together, even with everything against them. It was intense but also adorable. I also loved that Cath was a baker! It’s nice to see people who love to cook, and her deserts sounded so amazing as I was reading.

Fans of this author or Wonderland in general will devour this book.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

2 comments on “ARC Review: Heartless by Marissa Meyer

  1. Meyers always delivers it sounds like! I’m not a huge fan of the original Alice story but there was an animated series that I used to watch daily growing up so I know I’ll read this as soon as I can – so happy you enjoyed it so much and that it blew away your expectations 😀

    • She really does! I think she’s become an auto-buy author for me now. And I’ll be getting a finished copy of this too! I was never a fan either but I did enjoy this, so hopefully you do too. 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

