ARC Review: Wonder Women by Sam Maggs

wonder-women

Title: Wonder Women
Author: Sam Maggs
Release Date/Publisher: October 4th 2016 by Quirk Books
Finished: October 7th 2016
Pages: 240 pages-ARC Paperback-Given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Ever heard of Allied spy Noor Inayat Khan, a Muslim woman whom the Nazis considered “highly dangerous”? Or German painter and entomologist Maria Sibylla Merian, who planned and embarked on the world’s first scientific expedition? How about Huang Daopo, the inventor who fled an abusive child marriage only to revolutionize textile production in China?

Women have always been able to change the world, even when they didn’t get the credit. In Wonder Women, author Sam Maggs introduces you to pioneering female scientists, engineers, mathematicians, adventurers, and inventors—each profile a study in passion, smarts, and stickto-itiveness, complete with portraits by Google doodler Sophia Foster-Dimino, an extensive bibliography, and a guide to present-day women-centric STEM organizations.

What I Thought:

This is a non-fiction book full of such great history! It showcases some of the women in the past who have done some amazing things and even carved paths for future women in certain industries. I love this author, so when I requested a copy of this book, I interrupted what I was reading at the time to dive into this. And it was really good!

It’s divided into sections depending on what these women did, like inventors, spies, or even women who loved adventure. I loved the images that every lady had for their section (you can see examples on the cover) and there was also a quote before all the good knowledge started. I loved Sam’s writing style and I can see myself re-reading this book many times.

Quite a few of these women I knew nothing about so it was really amazing to read about them. There’s even a section at the end of each part that highlights more women in short paragraphs, to toss a little extra awesome at us. And another cool thing is that these women are from all around the world, there’s even a Canadian one!

This is one book that I think will be a quick and wonderful read for a lot of people. I plan on getting a finished copy of it soon, and as well I’m keeping my ARC beside it.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

3 comments on “ARC Review: Wonder Women by Sam Maggs

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

