ARC Review: What Light by Jay Asher

what-light

Title: What Light
Author: Jay Asher
Release Date/Publisher: October 18th 2016 by Razorbill
Finished: October 25th 2016
Pages: 256-ARC Paperback-Given for review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Sierra’s family runs a Christmas tree farm in Oregon. It’s a bucolic setting for a girl to grow up in, except that every year, they pack up and move to California to set up their Christmas tree lot for the season. So Sierra lives two lives: her life in Oregon and her life at Christmas. And leaving one always means missing the other.

Until this particular Christmas, when Sierra meets Caleb, and one life eclipses the other.

By reputation, Caleb is not your perfect guy: years ago, he made an enormous mistake and has been paying for it ever since. Sierra sees beyond Caleb’s past and becomes determined to help him find forgiveness and, maybe, redemption. But as disapproval, misconceptions, and suspicions swirl around them, Caleb and Sierra can’t help but wonder if love really is enough to overcome every obstacle…

What I Thought:

I was given an advanced copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

This is my first book by this author! It’s a Christmas themed book that came out in October, and I read it before Halloween instead of a scary one. And I loved it!! Christmas has always been my favourite holiday, from the decorations to seeing family the most, with the presents being a bonus. When I read what it was about I just had to get it.

I haven’t read such a good Christmas themed book in a while. Last year I wasn’t in the mood and I just never know what to pick up. I’ve never read something from the perspective of the people selling trees and it was really cool seeing it from that side. I liked the little note at the front from the author on tat very subject (hopefully it’s in the final version). In my ARC there was also a picture at the front of what I think was a real tree lot and it looked cool. I don’t think I’ve ever had a real tree growing up let alone been on a lot like that, but someday I really want to.

I was so caught up in their relationship during this book, I had trouble putting it down. I kept smiling as they interacted, hoping against all odds that they would end up together. I was so emotional wondering if they were going to give it a go and risk it even though they were going to be apart eventually when she went back home. The last 2-3 chapters I was also crying, I just couldn’t help it.

This was such a good book and a really great and cute romance, especially if you read it close to Christmas. I definitely need to check out the other books by this author since I loved this one so much.

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

