ARC Review: The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman

the-dark-days-pact

Title: The Dark Days Pact (Lady Helen #2)
Author: Alison Goodman
Release Date/Publisher: January 31st 2017 by Viking Books for Young Readers
Finished: December 10th 2016
Pages: 496-ARC Paperback-Given for review
Series:
1. The Dark Days Club
2. The Dark Days Pact
3. Untitled

Synopsis from Goodreads:

June 1812. Just weeks after her catastrophic coming-out ball, Lady Helen Wrexhall—now disowned by her uncle—is a full member of the demon-hunting Dark Days Club. Her mentor, Lord Carlston, has arranged for Helen to spend the summer season in Brighton so that he can train her new Reclaimer powers. However, the long-term effects of Carlston’s Reclaimer work have taken hold, and his sanity is beginning to slip. At the same time, Carlston’s Dark Days Club colleague and nemesis will stop at nothing to bring Helen over to his side—and the Duke of Selburn is determined to marry her. The stakes are even higher for Helen as she struggles to become the warrior that everyone expects her to be.

What I Thought:

For a second book in a new series, this one was really good! I was worried it wouldn’t live up because the first book was great but it did well. Sadly because of being so busy at work (I read during my two small breaks and my lunch, and I couldn’t take the smaller ones) it took me two weeks to read, but I really enjoyed it.

I missed this series and it was so good to get back into it. If you loved the historical aspects of the first book, those are still there, but a lot more of the Reclaimer stuff is the main focus which I loved. We get to meet some new characters, new bonds and friendships are formed, and of course we find out more about the threat that started in the first book. And of course more action and fighting, especially with Helen which was awesome.

Being a woman in this time period, Lady Helen has a lot against her as a Reclaimer. What I really liked is that she didn’t act like a modern girl, which unfortunately happens in some historicals. She acted like someone of that time and yet she was still able to do so much. Especially when one certain thing happened closer to the beginning to help her, even though she wasn’t happy about it.

This is a great series so far and I’m super excited for when the next book will be out, which I know will be a bit of a wait. If you haven’t checked this series out yet, I really suggest you do!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

3 comments on “ARC Review: The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman

  1. Is this one going to be a trilogy or more than that? I have the first book but haven’t read it yet, I’m wondering if I should wait (I find I forget so much if there’s a huge wait between books :/)

  2. I still need to read the first book which was gifted to me last year! I’m really happy that the sequel delivered for you Kelsey!! Second books can be hit or miss a lot of the times but this makes me even more excited to start in on these books 😀

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.

