Review: Lies I Told by Michelle Zink

lies i told

Title: Lies I Told
Author: Michelle Zink
Release Date/Publisher: April 7th 2015 by HarperTeen
Finished: February 12th 2015
Pages: 352-ARC eBook-given for review
Series:
1. Lies I Told
2. Promises I Made

Synopsis from Goodreads:

What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you’ve told yourself?

Grace Fontaine has everything: beauty, money, confidence, and the perfect family.

But it’s all a lie.

Grace has been adopted into a family of thieves who con affluent people out of money, jewelry, art, and anything else of value. Grace has never had any difficulty pulling off a job, but when things start to go wrong on the Fontaines’ biggest heist yet, Grace finds herself breaking more and more of the rules designed to keep her from getting caught…including the most important one of all: never fall for your mark.

Perfect for fans of Ally Carter, Cecily von Ziegesar, and Gail Carriger, this thrilling, high-stakes novel deftly explores the roles of identity and loyalty while offering a window into the world of the rich and fabulous.

What I Thought:

I was given on Edelweiss from HarperTeen in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading

Bout of Books-Day 7. Last day & review!

Goals for this week: To read 2-3 books

Books I hope to read:
Spellbound by Kelley Armstrong (Done)
Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink (Done)
Guardian of the gate by Michelle Zink (Done)
Circle of Fire by Michelle Zink (31%)
Iron King by Julie Kagawa

8/22
Books Completed Today: –
Total number of books I’ve read: o
Currently Reading: Spellbound by Kelley Armstrong

8/23
Books Completed Today: Spellbound by Kelley Armstrong
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Currently Reading: Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

8/24
Books Completed Today:  Prophecy of the Sisters
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Currently Reading: Guardian of the Gate by Michelle Zink

8/25
Books Completed Today:  –
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Currently Reading: Guardian of the Gate by Michelle Zink

8/26
Books Completed Today:  Guardian of the Gate
Total number of books I’ve read: 3
Currently Reading: Circle of Fire by Michelle Zink

8/26
Books Completed Today:  –
Total number of books I’ve read: 3
Currently Reading: Circle of Fire by Michelle Zink

8/27
Books Completed Today:  –
Total number of books I’ve read: 3
Currently Reading: Circle of Fire by Michelle Zink

So the Bout of books is done as of today!

I managed to read 3 books and complete my goal that I set for myself at the beginning of this. For having a full work week, this is a pretty good number of books read for me. The most time I usually get to read is on the bus in the morning and evening, and during my lunch break (30 mins.). In the evenings I don’t always read, but I managed to push myself to get this done!

I plan to try and read much more after this, and try out some more reviews as well, the next one being the current book I’m reading 🙂

I hope that everyone has had fun and reached their goals, whomever participated in this!

Bout of Books-Day 6

Goals for this week: To read 2-3 books

Books I hope to read:
Spellbound by Kelley Armstrong (Done)
Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink (Done)
Guardian of the gate by Michelle Zink (Done)
Circle of Fire by Michelle Zink (15%)
Iron King by Julie Kagawa

8/22
Books Completed Today: –
Total number of books I’ve read: o
Currently Reading: Spellbound by Kelley Armstrong

8/23
Books Completed Today: Spellbound by Kelley Armstrong
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Currently Reading: Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

8/24
Books Completed Today:  Prophecy of the Sisters
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Currently Reading: Guardian of the Gate by Michelle Zink

8/25
Books Completed Today:  –
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Currently Reading: Guardian of the Gate by Michelle Zink

8/26
Books Completed Today:  Guardian of the Gate
Total number of books I’ve read: 3
Currently Reading: Circle of Fire by Michelle Zink

8/26
Books Completed Today:  –
Total number of books I’ve read: 3
Currently Reading: Circle of Fire by Michelle Zink

And so this is almost done! I reached my goal of 3 book, and am working on a fourth one, but not sure if I will be able to finish it for tomorrow night, not sure what the plans are for tomorrow yet.

I wish everyone who is working on this read-a-thon good luck!

Bout of Books-Day 5

Goals for this week: To read 2-3 books

Books I hope to read:
Spellbound by Kelley Armstrong (Done)
Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink (Done)
Guardian of the gate by Michelle Zink (Done)
Circle of Fire by Michelle Zink (just started)
Iron King by Julie Kagawa

8/22
Books Completed Today: –
Total number of books I’ve read: o
Currently Reading: Spellbound by Kelley Armstrong

8/23
Books Completed Today: Spellbound by Kelley Armstrong
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Currently Reading: Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

8/24
Books Completed Today:  Prophecy of the Sisters
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Currently Reading: Guardian of the Gate by Michelle Zink

8/25
Books Completed Today:  –
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Currently Reading: Guardian of the Gate by Michelle Zink

8/26
Books Completed Today:  Guardian of the Gate
Total number of books I’ve read: 3
Currently Reading: Circle of Fire by Michelle Zink

Bout of Books-Day 4

Goals for this week: To read 2-3 books

Books I hope to read:
Spellbound by Kelley Armstrong (Done)
Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink (Done)
Guardian of the gate by Michelle Zink (21 %)
Circle of Fire by Michelle Zink
Iron King by Julie Kagawa  (changed my choice)

8/22
Books Completed Today: –
Total number of books I’ve read: o
Currently Reading: Spellbound by Kelley Armstrong

8/23
Books Completed Today: Spellbound by Kelley Armstrong
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Currently Reading: Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

8/24
Books Completed Today:  Prophecy of the Sisters
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Currently Reading: Guardian of the Gate by Michelle Zink

8/25
Books Completed Today:  –
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Currently Reading: Guardian of the Gate by Michelle Zink

I figured out that the next series I’m going to read is the Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa, I’ve heard some good things about it. I bought the first book in the series, Iron King since I got a coupon for Kobo in my email, and it’s been on my wishlist for a bit. Will let you know how it goes, but it sounds so awesome by the description so far!

I read a bunch of blogs here that review and suggest books, but if anyone has others they think I should read, feel free to let me know, I always love suggestions!

Happy reading peeps!