Review: Fire with Fire by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

firewithfire

Title: Fire with Fire (Burn for Burn #2)

Author: Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

Release Date/Publisher: August 13th 2013 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Finished: August 13th 2013

Pages: 528-ARC for review

Series: 

  1. Burn for Burn
  2. Fire with Fire
  3. Ashes to Ashes

Synopsis:

Lillia, Kat, and Mary had the perfect plan. Work together in secret to take down the people who wronged them. But things didn’t exactly go the way they’d hoped at the Homecoming Dance.

Not even close.

For now, it looks like they got away with it. All they have to do is move on and pick up the pieces, forget there ever was a pact. But it’s not easy, not when Reeve is still a total jerk and Rennie’s meaner than she ever was before.

And then there’s sweet little Mary…she knows there’s something seriously wrong with her. If she can’t control her anger, she’s sure that someone will get hurt even worse than Reeve was. Mary understands now that it’s not just that Reeve bullied her—it’s that he made her love him.

Eye for an eye, tooth for a tooth, burn for a burn. A broken heart for a broken heart. The girls are up to the task. They’ll make Reeve fall in love with Lillia and then they will crush him. It’s the only way he’ll learn.

It seems once a fire is lit, the only thing you can do is let it burn…

What I thought:

I received this for review from Simon & Schuster Canada, thank you! The release date on my advanced copy says September 3rd, but the date was moved up for the actual release I think. Unfortunately I had already planned my reading and review schedule so taht’s why it’s a bit late going up.

This one starts pretty much right after the first book and all the craziness at the end. The girls try to lay low just in case they get found out, but they end up getting closer together as the story goes on. Since Mary’s revenge against Reeve wasn’t very satisfying, she wants to do something else, like have him fall for Lillia so she can break his heart. Problem is Mary still has feelings for him, and by the sound of it he’s not such a bad guy when Lillia gets closer to him.

That paranormal edge I mentioned in the last book comes back, and plays a much more important role closer to the end of the book. I won’t tell you what happens, but I’m really excited for the next book. There’s still the drama of high school and people fighting too, but it’s much deeper. Probably because they don’t focus on the small acts of revenge as much, but concentrate on the bigger picture as well as normal things like college and romance and loss.

I wasn’t expecting the second book to be even better than the first, but I really enjoyed myself with this series so far. It kinda flew right by, even though it’s over 500 pages! I definitely recommend it!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

One comment on “Review: Fire with Fire by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

  1. I have been holding off reading book one but now that I see how much you’ve enjoyed reading the sequel, I think I’ll have to put the books on my reading schedule. Thanks for sharing that the story has evolved with a deeper focus. 🙂

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.