Review: Ascend by Amanda Hocking

Title: Ascend (Trylle Trilogy #3)

Author: Amanda Hocking

Release Date: April 24th 2012

Published by: St. Martin’s Griffin

Read: August 26th 2012

Pages: 326-paperback-owned

Series:

  1. Switched
  2. Torn
  3. Ascend

Synopsis:

Wendy Everly is facing an impossible choice. The only way to save the Trylle from their deadliest enemy is by sacrificing herself.  If she doesn’t surrender to the Vittra, her people will be thrust into a brutal war against an unbeatable foe.  But how can Wendy leave all her friends behind…even if it’s the only way to save them?

The stakes have never been higher, because her kingdom isn’t the only thing she stands to lose. After falling for both Finn and Loki, she’s about to make the ultimate choice…who to love forever. One guy has finally proven to be the love of her life—and now all their lives might be coming to an end.

Everything has been leading to this moment.  The future of her entire world rests in her hands—if she’s ready to fight for it.

What I thought:

There will be spoilers from book 1 and 2. If you haven’t read them, do so before continuing. I will not spoil this book though, I will try to be good.

Everything in this book is getting more serious, especially compared to the other two. Wendy and Tove are now married and they are starting to try to make changes to the kingdom. Oren, King of Vittra, still wants his daughter so he can rule both kingdoms and he’ll stop at nothing to get it.

Relationships are also at an all time high; I’ve completely given up on Finn and I’m now rooting for Loki. I know she is married to Tove, but because of the thing you learned in the second book they can’t be happy together as a couple, just as friends. I won’t spoil who she ends up with, but I rooted for Loki just because he’s awesome.

Wendy is finally getting it together by being strong and confident and the future Queen everyone needs. She just needs to prove herself that she can do it, she never feels like it’s enough and that she should be doing more. With a truce of peace with Vittra slowly coming to an end, she needs to figure out a way to beat Oren. The ending went by fast but it was still pretty cool. I was hoping a certain battle would last longer and have more details.

I think this was a great series, it kept me captured in its pages and I couldn’t wait to see how Wendy would change and grow, what kind of crazy stuff was going to happen, and of course if they lived happily ever after or not. Definitely worth your time to pick these up and give them a shot!

Recommended for young adult fantasy lovers!

SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurple

One comment on “Review: Ascend by Amanda Hocking

  1. After reading your reviews about this series, I think I’ll add these books to my to-read list. I haven’t read anything by Amanda Hocking and I think this series could be a great start for me. Wendy does seem to have changed and grown quite a bit in the books. Great review, Kelsey!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.