Review: Hero by Alethea Kontis

hero

Title: Hero (Woodcutter Sisters #2)

Author: Alethea Kontis

Release Date/Publisher: October 1st 2013 by Harcourt Books

Finished: August 23rd 2013

Pages: 304-ARC review copy

Series: 

  1. Enchanted
  2. Hero
  3. Dearest

Synopsis:

Rough and tumble Saturday Woodcutter thinks she’s the only one of her sisters without any magic—until the day she accidentally conjures an ocean in the backyard. With her sword in tow, Saturday sets sail on a pirate ship, only to find herself kidnapped and whisked off to the top of the world. Is Saturday powerful enough to kill the mountain witch who holds her captive and save the world from sure destruction? And, as she wonders grumpily, “Did romance have to be part of the adventure?” As in Enchanted, readers will revel in the fragments of fairy tales that embellish this action-packed story of adventure and, yes, romance.

What I thought:

I got this review copy from Thomas Allen & Son, so a big thank you to them! My cover has her in almost a minty green and not the darker one above, as well as a different thing around the text, so I’m not sure what the final will look like. But they’re both still pretty! Here’s mine:

hero_arc

When I read this first book in this series I thought I really liked Sunday. But now that I’ve read this one Saturday is my favourite! She’s strong, stubborn and always willing to work hard. She doesn’t see herself as a hero or one that can save others but she certainly does try. It’s certainly better than giving up I’d think. Peregrine was another interesting character and had his own POV, and it was cute how he had feelings for Saturday! I also really loved Betwixt! He was funny and I thought he was a great companion for them, and his many changes because of a spell were interesting.

This book does still have different fairy-tale elements mixed in, although a bit less than the first since most of those were mostly stories by Sunday. But I really was captured by this book just like the first. The story of Saturday going on an adventure, being captured by a witch and having to survive at the top of the world was so cool! She has some magic as well, although hers are definitely more unique than her sisters.

Seriously though, if you’ve read the first book you’ll love this one as well! Great for fans who love fairy-tales!

SinglePawPurple SinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleSinglePawPurpleHalfPawPurple

3 comments on “Review: Hero by Alethea Kontis

  1. It’s funny how as we read further into a series our perspective on characters can change so much! Happy that this series is continuing to be one that you really like, Kelsey!

I love comments! Feel free to leave one, and if it doesn't show up right away don't worry, I just have to approve it.